STATE OF WISCONSIN

Senate Journal

One-Hundred and Third Regular Session

THURSDAY, February 9, 2017

The Chief Clerk made the following entries under the above date.

INTRODUCTION, FIRST READING, AND REFERENCE OF PROPOSALS

Read first time and referred:

Senate Bill 31

Relating to: revising the length-of-service awards program in the Department of Administration for volunteer emergency response personnel.

By the joint Legislative Council.

To the committee on **Government Operations**, **Technology and Consumer Protection**.

Senate Bill 32

Relating to: creating a refundable individual income tax credit for emergency responders and making an appropriation.

By the joint Legislative Council.

To the committee on **Revenue**, **Financial Institutions** and **Rural Issues**.

Senate Bill 33

Relating to: creating an individual income tax credit for certain expenses incurred by an emergency responder and making an appropriation.

By the joint Legislative Council.

To the committee on **Revenue**, **Financial Institutions** and **Rural Issues**.

Senate Bill 34

Relating to: sales and transfers of firearms and providing a criminal penalty.

By Senators Johnson, Carpenter, C. Larson, Miller, Risser and L. Taylor; cosponsored by Representatives Berceau, C. Taylor, Anderson, Billings, Bowen, Brostoff, Crowley, Fields, Goyke, Hesselbein, Kolste, Ohnstad, Riemer, Sargent, Sinicki, Spreitzer, Subeck, Wachs, Young and Zamarripa.

To the committee on Judiciary and Public Safety.

Senate Bill 35

Relating to: mandatory reporting of child abuse and neglect by juvenile correctional officers.

By Senators Johnson, Wanggaard, Carpenter, Erpenbach, Wirch, C. Larson, Olsen, L. Taylor, Darling and Shilling; cosponsored by Representatives Kleefisch, Spiros, Kolste, Crowley, C. Taylor, Subeck, Considine, Brandtjen, Goyke,

Pope, Zepnick, E. Brooks, Mursau, Schraa, Bowen, Kremer, Anderson, Quinn, Novak, Fields, Zamarripa, Billings, Genrich, Sinicki, Skowronski, Spreitzer, Berceau, Tittl and Sargent.

To the committee on Judiciary and Public Safety.

REPORT OF COMMITTEES

The committee on **Agriculture**, **Small Business and Tourism** reported and recommended:

BAUMGARTEN, ARLYN H., of Kenosha, as a Southern Area Representative on the Snowmobile Recreational Council, to serve for the term ending July 1, 2019.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 9 - Senators Moulton, Tiffany, Harsdorf, Petrowski, Testin, L. Taylor, Miller, C. Larson and Vinehout. Noes: 0 - None.

CHWALA, THOMAS H., of Lake Mills, as a Southern Area Representative on the Snowmobile Recreational Council, to serve for the term ending July 1, 2018.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 9 - Senators Moulton, Tiffany, Harsdorf, Petrowski, Testin, L. Taylor, Miller, C. Larson and Vinehout. Noes: 0 - None.

DITTMAR, BEVERLY A., of Eagle River, as a Northern Area Representative on the Snowmobile Recreational Council, to serve for the term ending July 1, 2019.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 9 - Senators Moulton, Tiffany, Harsdorf, Petrowski, Testin, L. Taylor, Miller, C. Larson and Vinehout. Noes: 0 - None.

HALLSTRAND, KURT, of Prentice, as an Agriculture Representative on the Board of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2021.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 9 - Senators Moulton, Tiffany, Harsdorf, Petrowski, Testin, L. Taylor, Miller, C. Larson and Vinehout. Noes: 0 - None.

HILGENDORF, GARY L., of Tomahawk, as a Northern Area Representative on the Snowmobile

Recreational Council, to serve for the term ending July 1, 2019.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 9 - Senators Moulton, Tiffany, Harsdorf, Petrowski, Testin, L. Taylor, Miller, C. Larson and Vinehout. Noes: 0 - None.

HOLDEN, MICHAEL F., of Sheboygan Falls, as a Southern Area Representative on the Snowmobile Recreational Council, to serve for the term ending July 1, 2019.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 9 - Senators Moulton, Tiffany, Harsdorf, Petrowski, Testin, L. Taylor, Miller, C. Larson and Vinehout. Noes: 0 - None.

JACOBS JR., GEORGE F., of Madison, as a Public Member on the Wisconsin Historical Society Board of Curators, to serve for the term ending July 1, 2019.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 9 - Senators Moulton, Tiffany, Harsdorf, Petrowski, Testin, L. Taylor, Miller, C. Larson and Vinehout. Noes: 0 - None.

KREIER, KEVIN S., of Janesville, as a Veterinarian on the Veterinary Examining Board, to serve for the term ending July 1, 2020.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 9 - Senators Moulton, Tiffany, Harsdorf, Petrowski, Testin, L. Taylor, Miller, C. Larson and Vinehout. Noes: 0 - None.

MORAN, STEVE W., of Tomahawk, as a Northern Area Representative on the Snowmobile Recreational Council, to serve for the term ending July 1, 2019.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 9 - Senators Moulton, Tiffany, Harsdorf, Petrowski, Testin, L. Taylor, Miller, C. Larson and Vinehout. Noes: 0 - None.

OLSON, NANCY L., of La Crosse, as a Southern Area Representative on the Snowmobile Recreational Council, to serve for the term ending July 1, 2019.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 9 - Senators Moulton, Tiffany, Harsdorf, Petrowski, Testin, L. Taylor, Miller, C. Larson and Vinehout. Noes: 0 - None.

STOCKWELL, RANDY J., of Dorchester, as a Professional Member on the Auctioneer Board, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2020.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 9 - Senators Moulton, Tiffany, Harsdorf, Petrowski, Testin, L. Taylor, Miller, C. Larson and Vinehout. Noes: 0 - None.

TERRY MOULTON

Chairperson

PETITIONS AND COMMUNICATIONS

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representatives Bowen, Milroy and Ohnstad withdrawn as co-sponsors of **Senate Bill 11**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representative Ott added as a co-sponsor of **Senate Bill 12**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representative Ripp added as a co-sponsor of **Senate Bill 23**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representative Steffen added as a co-sponsor of **Senate Bill 24**.

State of Wisconsin Office of the Senate President

February 7, 2017

The Honorable, the Senate:

Pursuant to state statute, I am making the following appointments:

Child Abuse and Neglect Prevention Board

Senator Patrick Testin

Historical Society of Wisconsin – Board of Curators Senator Van Wanggaard (designee of Senator Roth)

Midwestern Higher Education Commission

Senator Sheila Harsdorf

Milwaukee Child Welfare Partnership Council Senator Alberta Darling

Rustic Roads Board

Senator Jerry Petrowski (ex-officio, Chair of Committee on Transportation)

Wisconsin Aerospace Authority – Board of Directors Senator Devin LeMahieu

Sincerely, ROGER ROTH President

MESSAGES FROM THE ASSEMBLY

By Patrick E. Fuller, chief clerk.

Mr. President:

I am directed to inform you that the Assembly has concurred in:

Senate Bill 1

Senate Joint Resolution 2

Senate Joint Resolution 6