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2017 Wisconsin Act 105 
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Traffic Violations and Vehicle 
Right-of-Way Courses 

 

BACKGROUND 

Wisconsin law sets forth the rules of the road.  The rules of the road include rules that 
govern the general right-of-way.1  One of the consequences for violating rules governing the 
general right-of-way relates to the suspension of a person’s operating privilege.  If a person 
violates a general right-of-way traffic rule, the Department of Transportation (DOT) must 
suspend a person’s operating privilege if the violation results in bodily harm, great bodily harm, 
or death.2  If the violation does not result in an injury or death, a person’s operating privilege 
may be suspended if the suspension is ordered by a court.  If the suspension is ordered by DOT, 
the person’s operating privilege may not be reinstated until the person attends a vehicle right-
of-way course.3  Completion of a course is not required for reinstatements of the operating 
privilege if the suspension is court-ordered. 

Another consequence for violating rules of the road, including rules governing the 
general right-of-way, is a forfeiture.  Very generally, the statutes specify forfeiture amounts that 
increase for second and subsequent offenses.  With respect to a general right-of-way violation, 

                                                 

1 The general right-of-way rules of the road govern all of the following:  (a) the general rule at intersections; 
(b) turning left or making a U-turn at an intersection; (c) intersections with a “through highway”; (d) entering a 
highway from alley or nonhighway access; (e) moving from a parked position; (f) right-of-way where a yield sign 
is installed; (g) entering an alley or a driveway from a highway; and (h) roundabouts.  [s. 346.18, Stats.] 

2 The length for which DOT must suspend a person’s operating privilege is as follows:  (a) two months if 
the violation results in bodily harm; (b) three months if the result is great bodily harm; and (c) nine months if the 
result is death.  [s. 343.31 (2t) (a), Stats.] 

3 The vehicle right-of-way course’s mode of instruction must be approved by DOT and must be conducted 
by a regularly established safety organization, an approved provider of driver education courses, or by a driver 
school licensed in Wisconsin.  [s. 343.31 (2t) (b), Stats.] 
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the statutes also provide the following increased forfeiture amounts:  (1) double the forfeiture 
amount if the violation occurred in a construction zone; (2) $200 if the violation resulted in bodily 
harm; (3) $500 if the violation resulted in great bodily harm; and (4) $1,000 if the violation 
resulted in death. 

2017 WISCONSIN ACT 105 

2017 Wisconsin Act 105 (“the Act”) expands the list of rules of the road violations for 
which DOT must require attendance at a vehicle right-of-way course.  Under the Act, DOT must 
require attendance at a vehicle right-of-way course for violating the required method for 
operating a motor vehicle in all of the following circumstances: 

 Driving on a roadway. 

 Meeting vehicles passing in opposite directions. 

 Overtaking and passing another vehicle. 

 Facing a stop sign or traffic control signal. 

 Proceeding through an intersection. 

 Turning at an intersection. 

 Yielding to a pedestrian, bicycle, or electric mobility device in a crosswalk. 

 Backing. 

 Entering the roadway from an alley or parked position. 

Under the Act, if a person is ordered by DOT to attend a vehicle right-of-way course for 
a right-of-way violation or one of the violations listed above, and the violation resulted in either 
bodily harm or no injury, the person must complete the vehicle right-of-way course within six 
months of DOT ordering the person to attend the course.  If the person does not complete the 
course within this six-month period, then DOT must suspend the person’s operating privilege 
until the person successfully completes the course.  The suspension, however, may not be for 
more than five years. 

The Act also increases the penalties applicable to the violations listed above when the 
violation resulted in great bodily harm or death.  Specifically, if the violation resulted in great 
bodily harm, the Act requires a forfeiture of $500 and a three-month suspension by DOT of the 
person’s operating privilege.  If the violation resulted in death, the Act requires a forfeiture of 
$1,000 and a nine-month suspension by DOT of the person’s operating privilege. 

Effective date:  December 2, 2017. 

Prepared by:  Melissa Schmidt, Senior Staff Attorney December 6, 2017 
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