WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
ACT MEMO

2017 Wisconsin Act 177
[2017 Senate Bill 404]

Student Entrepreneur LLC Filing
Fee Exemption

2017 Wisconsin Act 177 creates a student entrepreneur exemption to the $130 filing fee
for articles of organization to form a limited liability company (LLC). The fee exemption applies
to student entrepreneurs who are enrolled in postsecondary educational institutions in
Wisconsin and who seek to form an LLC as a business start-up. A student must also be at least

18 years of age to be eligible for the exemption.

Effective date: May 1, 2018

Prepared by: Dan Schmidt, Principal Analyst
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March 29, 2018

This memo provides a brief description of the Act. For more detailed information,
consult the text of the law and related legislative documents at the Legislature’s Web site at: http://www.legis.wisconsin.gov.
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