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FSET Participation Hours 

 

BACKGROUND 

Federal law requires each state to operate an employment and training program for food 
stamp recipients. Participation in Wisconsin’s FoodShare Employment and Training Program 
(FSET) is currently voluntary.  

Currently, the number of hours of FSET participation can vary for FoodShare recipients 
who choose to participate in the program. Able-bodied adults without dependents are generally 
required to complete 80 hours of work per month in order to remain eligible for more than three 
countable months of FoodShare benefits during any three-year period. These individuals can 
choose to participate in FSET to satisfy all or a portion of their 80 hours. Other FoodShare 
recipients may also choose to participate in FSET and, if they choose to participate, must 
complete at least 12 hours of FSET activities per month.1 

Under 2017 Wisconsin Act 264, beginning on October 1, 2019, the Department of Health 
Services (DHS) must require, subject to certain exceptions, that all able-bodied adults participate 
in FSET to the extent allowed by the federal government. 

The term “able-bodied adult” is defined to mean an individual between the ages of 18 
and 50 years old who is physically and mentally fit for employment, and is not pregnant or 
exempt from federal laws that set forth general work requirements for the food stamp program. 
An able-bodied adult who is not a parent of, or residing in a household with, a household 

                                                 

1 FSET Handbook, DHS, Release 17-02, ss. 6.3.1 through 6.3.2.3 (Oct. 30, 2017). 

http://www.legis.wisconsin.gov/
mailto:leg.council@legis.wisconsin.gov
http://www.legis.wisconsin.gov/lc


- 2 - 

member under 18 years old is considered an “able-bodied adult without dependents.” [s. 49.79 
(1) (am) and (ap), Stats.] 

2017 WISCONSIN ACT 263 

2017 Wisconsin Act 263 states that if able-bodied adults without dependents are required 
to participate in FSET, DHS must: (1) set the required number of hours of FSET participation for 
able-bodied adults without dependents at the maximum number allowed by the federal 
government; and (2) set the same number of required hours of FSET participation for able-
bodied adults with dependents. The second requirement does not apply to an able-bodied adult 
with dependents who is the caretaker of a child under the age of six, or is enrolled at least half 
time in a school, training program, or institution of higher education.  

Effective date:  April 12, 2018 

Prepared by:  Andrea Brauer, Staff Attorney April 20, 2018 
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