### Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Colleges and Universities**

### Assembly Bill 266

Relating to: eligibility for the Technical Excellence Higher Education Scholarship Program.

By Representatives Krug, Skowronski, Ballweg, Bernier, Mursau, Ripp, Tusler, Allen and Spiros; cosponsored by Senators Feyen, Marklein, Olsen, Darling and Harsdorf.

April 24, 2017	Referred to Committee on Colleges and Universities		
May 11, 2017	Public Hearing Held		
	Present: (16) Representative Murphy; Representatives Tranel, Zimmerman, Quinn, Summerfield, Petryk, Ballweg, Krug, Stafsholt, Kremer, Berceau, Wachs, Billings, Hebl, Vruwink and Anderson.		
	Absent: (0) None.		
	Excused: (0) None.		
	<ul> <li><u>Appearances For</u></li> <li>Rep. Scott Krug - author</li> <li>John Reinemann - WI Higher Educational Aids Board</li> </ul>		
	<u>Appearances Against</u> • None.		
	Appearances for Information Only		
	• None.		
	Registrations For		
	Nancy Merrill - Wisconsin Technical College System		
	• Sen Dan Feven - Senate author		

- Jeff Cichon Northcentral Technical College Financial Aid and HEAB board
- Keyimani Alford Madison College Financial Aid
- Nate Helm-Quest HEAB Board
- Michelle Thompson HEAB Board
- Martha Pincus
- Ann Griffin

#### **Registrations Against**

• None.

**Registrations for Information Only** 

• None.

#### May 30, 2017 Executive Session Held

Present:	(14)	Representative Murphy; Representatives
		Tranel, Summerfield, Petryk, Ballweg, Krug,
		Stafsholt, Kremer, Berceau, Wachs, Billings,
		Hebl, Vruwink and Anderson.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(2)	Representatives Zimmerman and Quinn.

Moved by Representative Tranel, seconded by Representative Krug that **Assembly Bill 266** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes:(14)Representative Murphy; Representatives<br/>Tranel, Summerfield, Petryk, Ballweg,<br/>Krug, Stafsholt, Kremer, Berceau, Wachs,<br/>Billings, Hebl, Vruwink and Anderson.
- Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Diane Handrick Committee Clerk