Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Colleges and Universities

Assembly Bill 299

Relating to: free expression within the University of Wisconsin System, providing an exemption from rule-making procedures, and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives Kremer, Vos, Murphy, Allen, Brandtjen, R. Brooks, Duchow, Horlacher, Hutton, Katsma, Kleefisch, Knodl, Kooyenga, Kuglitsch, Kulp, Mursau, Petersen, Quinn, Rohrkaste, Sanfelippo, Skowronski, Spiros, Tauchen, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tusler, Vorpagel and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Harsdorf, Craig, Kapenga, Lasee and Stroebel.

May 05, 2017 Referred to Committee on Colleges and Universities

May 11, 2017 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (16) Representative Murphy; Representatives

Tranel, Zimmerman, Quinn, Summerfield, Petryk, Ballweg, Krug, Stafsholt, Kremer, Berceau, Wachs, Billings, Hebl, Vruwink and

Anderson.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Rep. Jesse Kremer author
- Rep. Robin Vos
- Tim Higgins
- Stanley Kurtz Ethics and Public Policy Center
- Sami Dannhauser
- Matthew Fordi
- Cahleel Copus
- Alesha Guenther
- Bjorn Johnson
- Steve Underwood
- Jessica Murphy
- Charles Kudy
- Tyler Brandt

Appearances Against

- David Vanness
- Scot Ross One Wisconsin Now
- Savian Castro One Wisconsin Now

- DJ Bruce
- Natalie Halbrooks
- Eliana Locke
- Jordan Madelen ASM
- Jonathan Kim

Appearances for Information Only

- Jessica Tormey UW System
- Jeff Buhrandt UW System
- Clyde Taylor Wisconsin Institute for Law and Liberty
- Tom Kamenick Wisconsin Institute for Law and Liberty

Registrations For

- Robert Mueller Wisconsin Grandsons of Liberty
- Sen. Sheila Harsdorf Senate author
- London Beck Delta Chi of UW Whitewater
- Annette Olson
- Eric Bott Americans for Prosperity-WI

Registrations Against

- Ann Griffin
- Brianna Koerth
- Jeremy Spool
- Timothy Yu
- Martha Pincus
- Dale Ivarie
- Rep. Chris Taylor
- Nate Schwantes
- Angela Holecko
- Nicole Safar
- Courtney Byelich
- Alexa DeBooth
- Mel Barnes
- Monica Sundal
- Jamie Kuhn
- DJ Bruce
- Sydney Rosengarten
- Timothy Riley
- Carrie Scherpele
- Peggy LeMahieu
- Rep. Melissa Sargent
- Jeff Simpson
- Mitchell Hussbaum
- Rep. Dianne Hesselbein

- Genie Ogden
- Niko Magallon
- Jordan Ellenberg
- Matt Rothschild Wisconsin Democracy Campaign
- Rita Mae Reese

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

May 30, 2017 Executive Session Held

Present: (14) Representative Murphy; Representatives Tranel, Summerfield, Petryk, Ballweg, Krug,

Stafsholt, Kremer, Berceau, Wachs, Billings,

Hebl, Vruwink and Anderson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Zimmerman and Quinn.

Moved by Representative Ballweg, seconded by Representative Kremer that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (8) Representative Murphy; Representatives Tranel, Summerfield, Petryk, Ballweg, Krug, Stafsholt and Kremer.

Noes: (6) Representatives Berceau, Wachs, Billings, Hebl, Vruwink and Anderson.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 6

Moved by Representative Krug, seconded by Representative Ballweg that **Assembly Bill 299** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (8) Representative Murphy; Representatives Tranel, Summerfield, Petryk, Ballweg, Krug, Stafsholt and Kremer.

Noes: (6) Representatives Berceau, Wachs, Billings, Hebl, Vruwink and Anderson.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 6

Diane Handrick Committee Clerk