# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Education**

### **Assembly Bill 221**

Relating to: creating a pilot program under which certain school districts are not required to provide a minimum number of hours of direct pupil instruction.

By Representatives Kremer, Rohrkaste, Felzkowski, Horlacher, Kleefisch, Kulp and Quinn; cosponsored by Senators Olsen and Feyen.

April 10, 2017 Referred to Committee on Education

September 07, 2017 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (15) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives

Kitchens, Jagler, Rodriguez, Tusler, Mursau, Quinn, Duchow, Wichgers, Pope, Genrich,

Considine, Hebl, Bowen and Vruwink.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Zimmerman.

# Appearances For

- Jesse Kremer State Representative
- Luther Olsen State Senator
- Ted Neitzke CESA 6
- John Forester SAA
- Mary Pfeiffer Neenah Joint School District
- James Smasal Kewoskum
- Lauri Asbury NJSD
- Margaret Murphy NJSD
- Betsy Ellenberger NJSD

## **Appearances Against**

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

Dee Pettack - DPI

#### Registrations For

• Mike Rohekaste - State Representative

## Registrations Against

• None.

# **Registrations for Information Only**

None.

## November 16, 2017 Executive Session Held

Present: (15) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives

Kitchens, Jagler, Rodriguez, Tusler, Mursau, Quinn, Duchow, Wichgers, Pope, Genrich, Considine, Hebl, Bowen and Vruwink.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Zimmerman.

Moved by Representative Jagler, seconded by Representative Kitchens that **Assembly Bill 221** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (13) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Kitchens, Jagler, Rodriguez, Tusler, Mursau,

Quinn, Duchow, Wichgers, Pope, Considine, Hebl and Vruwink.

Noes: (2) Representatives Genrich and Bowen.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 2

Hariah Hutkowski Committee Clerk