Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Assembly Bill 496

Relating to: suspending and expelling a pupil for possession of a firearm at school.

By Representatives Kleefisch, Felzkowski, Ballweg, E. Brooks, Edming, Gannon, Horlacher, Jarchow, Katsma, Milroy, Mursau, Ripp, Tusler and Thiesfeldt; cosponsored by Senators Tiffany, Moulton, LeMahieu, Marklein, Olsen and Stroebel.

September 13, 2017 Referred to Committee on Education

November 16, 2017 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (15) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives
Kitchens, Jagler, Rodriguez, Tusler, Mursau,
Quinn, Duchow, Wichgers, Pope, Genrich,

Considine, Hebl, Bowen and Vruwink.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Zimmerman.

Appearances For

- Joel Kleefisch State Representative
- Terry McCloskey WASB
- Chris Kulow WASB
- Chris Metras Beecher-Dunbar-Pembine School District
- Jon Dolson Farmers and sportsmens convservation club of sheboygan
- Ben Niehaus School District of Florence County
- Gary DeSmidt Hartford
- Destiny Krueger Hartford
- Rick Leach Scholastic Shooting Sports Fundation
- Scott Sabol Mayville SChool District

Appearances Against

- Doug Greed
- Anastasia Reisizger

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Dan Rossmiller WASB
- Bob Welch Wis Bear Hunters Assoc

- Bob Welch Wisconsin Firearms Owners
- John Forester SAA
- Tom Tiffany State Senator

Registrations Against

Joann Boushon

Registrations for Information Only

None.

January 11, 2018 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (12) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Kitchens, Jagler, Zimmerman, Rodriguez, Mursau, Duchow, Pope, Genrich, Considine,

Bowen and Vruwink.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (4) Representatives Tusler, Quinn, Wichgers and

Hebl.

Moved by Representative Kitchens, seconded by Representative Bowen that **Assembly Bill 496** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (13) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Kitchens, Jagler, Zimmerman, Rodriguez, Mursau, Duchow, Wichgers, Pope, Genrich,

Considine, Bowen and Vruwink.

Committee Clerk

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Hariah Hutkowski