Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Assembly Bill 427

Relating to: comprehensive firearm education for high school pupils.

By Representatives Skowronski, R. Brooks, Kleefisch, Allen, Brandtjen, Edming, Gannon, Horlacher, Knodl, Kremer, Krug, Mursau, Quinn, Ripp, Rodriguez, Schraa, Thiesfeldt and Tusler; cosponsored by Senators Moulton, L. Taylor, Nass, Tiffany and Wanggaard.

June 30, 2017 Referred to Committee on Education

August 03, 2017 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (13) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives

Kitchens, Jagler, Zimmerman, Tusler, Mursau,

Quinn, Duchow, Pope, Considine, Hebl,

Bowen and Vruwink.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (3) Representatives Rodriguez, Wichgers and

Genrich.

Appearances For

- Joel Kleefisch State Representative
- Ken Skowronski State Representative
- Georgia Pantzlaff
- Alicia Meyer
- Andy Pantllaff
- Ian Krszjzaniek Reading Sen. Lena Taylor testimony
- Gary DeSmidt WI SCTP, Kettle Morainne, Hartford Gun Club
- Jeff Rowson Wi Firearms Owners Ranges Clubs
- Dave Holub Wi Firearms Owners, Brown Country Sportsman Club
- Brad Heidel International Hunter Education Assoc.
- Rob Bohmann Wis Conservation Congress
- George Meyer WI Wildlife Federation

Appearances Against

- Barbara Martin
- Sam Berger WAVE
- Anneliese Dickman WAVE

- Kerry Ann Sheffield Quimi School Psycologists and clinical educators
- Scott Marrese-Wheeler
- Laurie Asplund
- Corinne Stoddard
- Brock Doemel
- Saul Roselaar
- James Nosal
- Peggy Wireman
- Ann Muenster
- Marianne Ewig
- Barbara Martin
- Rebecca Parmentier Madison East Parents

Appearances for Information Only

- Dee Pettack DPI
- Jeff Pertl DPI
- Dan Rossmiller Wis Assoc. of School Boards
- John Forester School Admin Alliance
- Nina Brandt

Registrations For

- Timothy Meyer Maribel Sportsman Club
- Mike Goodman
- Bob Welch Wis. Firearms Owners
- George Meyer
- Terry Moulton State Senator
- Nancy Feingold
- Cal Gall Youth Shooting Team
- Garrett McFarren Hartford Youth Shooting Team
- Chuck Kuecker
- Scott McFarren Hartford Conservation and Gun Club

Registrations Against

- Nancy Feinfeld
- Joann Boushon
- Rebecca Forbes
- John Cioci
- Valerie Hoesly WAVE
- Paige Hoesly WAVE
- Tim Hughes WAVE
- Diane Hughes WAVE
- Derek Hoesly WAVE
- Tom Mooney

- Sally Drew
- Diane Smidt WAVE
- Earl Thayer
- Joyce Pohl
- Charles Litweiler
- Melissa Ratcliff
- Chris Taylor State Representative
- Erica Liu
- Robert Jaeger
- Marjory Lyford
- Anne Stoddard-Wheelock
- Caryl Terrell League of Women Voters
- Joseph Degnitz

Registrations for Information Only

• Kim Kaukl - Wis Rural Schools Alliance

March 22, 2018 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1

Hariah Hutkowski Committee Clerk