Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Mental Health

Assembly Bill 538

Relating to: transfer for emergency detention and warning of dangerousness. By Representatives Jagler, Genrich, Berceau, Bernier, Born, R. Brooks, Edming, Goyke, Hintz, Horlacher, Kolste, Loudenbeck, Mason, Pope, Quinn, Riemer, Ripp, Stuck, Tittl, VanderMeer, Zepnick, Tusler and Spiros; cosponsored by Senators Cowles, Ringhand, Bewley, Harsdorf, Olsen and Shilling.

October 16, 2017	Referred to Committee on Mental Health				
October 24, 2017	Public Hearing Held				
	Present:	(11)	Representative Tittl; Representatives Jagler, Ballweg, Novak, Sanfelippo, Snyder, VanderMeer, Considine, Sargent, Brostoff and Zepnick.		
	Absent:	(0)	None.		
	Excused:	(1)	Representative Spiros.		
	Appearances For				
	٠	Representative John Jagler			
	•	Representative Eric Genrich			
	•	Matthew Stanford - Wisconsin Hospital Association			
		• Dr. Jerry Halverson - Rogers Behavioral Health			
		Sharon Cox - Beloit Health System			

• Dr. Kristen Freier - Gundersen Health System

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

- Shel Gross Mental Health America of Wisconsin
- Sarah Diedrick-Kasdorf Wisconsin Counties Association
- Kit Kerschensteiner Disability Rights Wisconsin

Registrations For

- State Senator Robert Cowles
- Jodi Bloch Children's Hospital of Wisconsin
- Mark Grapentine Wisconsin Medical Society
- Eric Jensen Wisconsin Chapter: American College of Emergency Physicians

- Erik Kanter Wisconsin Academy of Family Physicians
- Eric Jensen Wisconsin Psychiatric Association

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

November 07, 2017 Executive Session Held

Present:	(11)	Representative Tittl; Representatives Jagler,
		Ballweg, Novak, Snyder, VanderMeer, Spiros,
		Considine, Sargent, Brostoff and Zepnick.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Sanfelippo.

Moved by Representative Sargent, seconded by Representative Spiros that **Assembly Bill 538** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (11) Representative Tittl; Representatives Jagler, Ballweg, Novak, Snyder, VanderMeer, Spiros, Considine, Sargent, Brostoff and Zepnick.
- Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Steve Hall Committee Clerk