Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Public Benefit Reform

Assembly Bill 530

Relating to: nutritional food pilot program under FoodShare and providing an exemption from rule-making procedures.

By Representatives Pronschinske, R. Brooks, Horlacher, Kitchens, Knodl, Kremer, Steffen, Tittl and Tusler; cosponsored by Senator Stroebel.

October 10, 2017 Referred to Committee on Public Benefit Reform

October 17, 2017 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (8) Representative Krug; Representatives

Vorpagel, Brandtjen, Schraa, Kremer, Subeck,

Kolste and Riemer.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Petersen.

Appearances For

• None.

Appearances Against

- Nick George Midwest Food Provider Accociation
- Maureen Fitzgerald Hunger Task Force
- Brandon Scholz Wi. Grocers Association

Appearances for Information Only

- Pat Remington, MD UW- School Of Medicine and Public Health
- Deb Suchla Trempealeau Co. Human Services

Registrations For

None.

Registrations Against

- Douglas Parrot Wi. Petroleum Marketers and Convenience Store Association
- David Lee Feeding Wi.
- Chase Tarrier End Domestic Abuse Wi.
- Jennifer Malcore Department of Health Services
- Maureen Ryan Survival Coalition
- Rebekah Sweeney Wi. Cheese Makers Association
- Peter Bakken Wi. Council of Churches

- Mickey Beil Dane Co.
- Lisa Pogh The Arc Wi.
- Jolene Phoutz Kwik Trip
- Jordan Lamb Wis. Potato and Vegetale growers association
- Jordan Lamb Wis. Pork Association
- Jordan Lamb Wis. Cattlemen's Association
- Jordan Lamb Wis. State Cranberry Growers Assocition
- Kelly McDowell Wi. Beverage Association

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

October 24, 2017 Executive Session Held

Present: (8) Representative Krug; Representatives Vorpagel, Brandtjen, Kremer, Petersen, Subeck, Kolste and Riemer.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Schraa.

Moved by Representative Brandtjen, seconded by Representative Krug that **Assembly Bill 530** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (5) Representative Krug; Representatives Vorpagel, Brandtjen, Kremer and Petersen.

Noes: (3) Representatives Subeck, Kolste and Riemer.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 3

Hannah Gibbs

Committee Clerk