# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Joint Committee on Finance**

# **Assembly Bill 906**

Relating to: creating a law enforcement agency drug trafficking response grant program; positions to assist in prosecuting drug-related offenses; evidence-based programs for substance abuse prevention services for at-risk youth; victim impact panels; funding for family treatment courts; grants for county jails to provide nonnarcotic treatment before offender reentry; and making appropriations.

By Representatives Nygren, Snyder, Duchow, Rodriguez, Novak, Petryk, Rohrkaste, Pronschinske, Zimmerman, Tusler, VanderMeer, Horlacher, Krug, Petersen, E. Brooks, Edming, Ballweg, Spiros, Tittl, Tranel, Knodl, Born, Skowronski, Jagler, Kitchens, Sanfelippo, Kolste, Billings, Genrich, Kulp and Mursau; cosponsored by Senators Vukmir, Moulton, Marklein, Wanggaard, Feyen, Testin and Bewley.

January 31, 2018 Referred to Joint Committee on Finance

February 07, 2018 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (15) Senator Darling; Representative Nygren;

Senators Olsen, Marklein, Tiffany, Vukmir, Stroebel and L. Taylor; Representatives Kooyenga, Loudenbeck, Felzkowski, Born,

Rohrkaste, C. Taylor and Shankland.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Senator Erpenbach.

#### Appearances For

- Daniel Brattset Sauk County DHS
- Sharon Boes
- Glen Jones
- Brad Wassink DCF
- Jennifer Malcore DHS
- Jim Engels DOJ
- Lane Ruhland DOJ
- Randy Schneider DOJ
- Jason Smith DOJ
- rebecca Foley MKE County family drug treatment court
- Rep. Jessie Rodriguez
- Rep. John Nygren
- Sen. Leah Vukmir
- Rep. Pat Synder

#### Appearances Against

• None.

# **Appearances for Information Only**

Kristen Reader - DISPS

#### Registrations For

- Alice O'Connor Chief of Police Assoc
- Jim Palmer Police Assoc
- Kathy Markeland WAFCA

#### **Registrations Against**

None.

# **Registrations for Information Only**

• None.

### February 08, 2018 Executive Session Held

Present: (16) Senator Darling; Representative Nygren; Senators Olsen, Marklein, Tiffany, Vukmir, Stroebel, L. Taylor and Erpenbach; Representatives Kooyenga, Loudenbeck, Felzkowski, Born, Rohrkaste, C. Taylor and Shankland.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Nygren, seconded by Senator Vukmir that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for introduction and adoption.

Ayes: (16) Senator Darling; Representative Nygren; Senators Olsen, Marklein, Tiffany, Vukmir, Stroebel, L. Taylor and Erpenbach; Representatives Kooyenga, Loudenbeck, Felzkowski, Born, Rohrkaste, C. Taylor and Shankland.

Noes: (0) None.

# ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 INTRODUCTION AND ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 16, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Nygren, seconded by Senator Vukmir that **Assembly Bill 906** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (16) Senator Darling; Representative Nygren; Senators Olsen, Marklein, Tiffany, Vukmir, Stroebel, L. Taylor and Erpenbach; Representatives Kooyenga, Loudenbeck, Felzkowski, Born, Rohrkaste, C. Taylor and Shankland.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 16, Noes 0

Joe Malkasian Committee Clerk