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Background

FSCA Position Paper on Funeral Director Licensing Requirements

In the 1970’s, current requirements for funeral director licensure were enacted. Under these laws, a
person cannot obtain a license as a funeral director in Wisconsin unless the following requirements are
met:

445.045 License requirements. (1) To be eligible for an original funeral director’s license, a person must
meet all of the following requirements:

e The person must be at least 18 years of age.

* (b) Subject toss. 111.321, 111.322 and 111.335, the person must not have an arrest or
conviction record.

* (d) The person must have completed 2 academic years of instruction in a recognized college or
university, in a course of study approved by the examining board, or have equivalent education.

* (e) The person must have satisfactorily completed 9 months or more instruction in a prescribed
course in mortuary science approved by the examining board at any time after having
completed an approved certification class described in s. 445.095 (1) (a).

e (f) The person must have completed one year of apprenticeship as prescribed in s. 445.095 at
any time after having completed an approved certification class described in s. 445.095 (1) (a)
and either before or after taking the course in mortuary science required by par. (e) and must
have satisfied the requirement under s. 445.095 (4).

* (g) The person must have successfully passed a comprehensive examination under s. 445.04 (3)
(b) and a jurisprudence examination under s. 445.04 (3) (c).

Issue

Members of the Funeral Service & Cremation Alliance of Wisconsin (FSCA), along with representatives
from the Milwaukee Area Technical College Mortuary School (MATC) have become increasingly
concerned with the number of students interested in entering the mortuary school program in
Wisconsin. Fifty years ago, MATC's Mortuary School graduated between 40-50 funeral directors from
the program. The current class enrollment for this year is 17. While the FSCA does not have any direct
evidence that the dwindling enrollment numbers relates to our current licensure requirements, MATC
has approached us to discuss the issue, as there is anecdotal evidence that students are choosing to
leave Wisconsin to attend mortuary schools which do not have, most specifically, the following
requirement:
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¢ (d) The person must have completed 2 academic years of instruction in a recognized college or
university, in a course of study approved by the examining board, or have equivalent education.

MATC has also relayed to the FSCA that there is no other program offered to students at their school
with this level of degree requirement. MATC's mortuary school instructors have approached the FSCA
questioning the additional year of instruction and inquired as to the rationale behind the additional
credits. The FSCA membership believes that the additional credit requirements are superfluous to
licensure and would be in support of legislation that would reduce the number of academic years of
instruction prior to receiving a mortuary degree.

Solution

Aside from the states of Ohio and Minnesota, which require a four-year degree to receive funeral
director licensure, Wisconsin is one of a handful of states that require three years of academic
instruction to receive the same degree as states which only require two.

The FSCA and MATC's Mortuary School are interested in amending current statute to the following:

* (d) The person must have completed 2 1 academic year of instruction in a recognized college or
university, in a course of study approved by the examining board, or have equivalent education.

The FSCA and MATC believe that this change will accomplish the following:

* Help toincrease the number of students in MATC's mortuary school program, as the program
will be more in line with neighboring states.
e Make MATC's mortuary school more competitive with other programs throughout the country.
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1 AN AcT ...; relating to: requirements for funeral director apprenticeships and
2 licenses, extending the time limit for emergency rule procedures, and providing
3 an exemption from emergency rule procedures. -
Analysis by ihe Legislative Reference Bureau
Thisis a preliminary draft. An analysis will be provided in a subsequent version
of this draft.
For further information see the state fiscal estimate, which will be printed as
an appendix to this bill.
The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:
%
4 SECTION 1. 445.045 (1) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:
: e,
@ 445.045 (1) (d) The person must have completed—Z—{fécademic years year of
6 instruction in a recognized college or university, in a course of study approved by the
7 examining board, or have equivalent education.

@i" 1971 c. 213 5. 5; 1971 ¢. 228 5. 44; 1971 c. 301, 307; 1975 c. 39 ss. 654, 654n, 732 (2); 1975 c. 199; 1979 c. 175 ss. 29, 53; 1979 c. 221 ss. 662, 2202 (45); Stats.
5.0

1979-s7445.045; 1981 .c. 380; 1981 c. 391 s. 211; 1983 a. 485; 1991 a. 316; 1999 a. 85; 2013 a. 114; 2017 a. 304, 331.
ross-reference: See also ch. FD 1, Wis. adm. code. -
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SECTION 2. 445.045 (1) (e{ of the statutes is amended to read:
445.045 (1) (e) The person must have satisfactorily completed 9 months or more

of instruction in a prescribed course in mortuary science approved by the examining

board at

1971 c. 213 s, 5;1971 ¢. 228 5. 44; 1971 ¢, 301, 307; 1975 ¢. 39 ss. 654, 654n, 732 (2); 1975 ¢. 199; 1979 c. 175 ss. 29, 53; 1979 c. 221 ss. 662, 2202 (45); Stats.

0795, 445.045; 1981 c. 380; 1981 c. 391 5. 211; 1983 a. 485; 1991 a. 316; 1999 a. 85; 2013 a, 114; 2017 a. 304, 331,

ey ‘ See also ch. FD 1, Wis. adm. code. . ) . .
»+*NOTE: Here, I simply struck out the requirement that the mortuary science

program be completed after the approved certification class.) In fact, it seems to cdﬁ'ﬂ'cf)
with par. (f), which says that an apprenticeship may be completed before or after takﬁﬁlg/

this class. . B

\/ . TTRE D)
SECTION 3. 445.045 (1) (f) of the statutes is amended to read:

445.045 (1) (f) The person must have completed one year of apprenticeship as
prescribed in s. 445.095
el&ssdesep}beéﬂks—éyﬁ%%éa)ﬁané either before or after taking the course in

mortuary science required by par. (e), and must have satisfied the requirement under

s. 445.095 (4).

W/Bﬂ c. 213 s. 5, 1971 ¢. 228 5. 44; 1971 c. 301, 307; 1975 c. 39 ss. 654, 654n, 732 (2); 1975 c. 199; 1979 c. 175 ss. 29, 53; 1979 c. 221 ss. 662, 2202 (45); Stats.
1

97957445.045; 1981 ¢ 380; 1981 c. 391 5. 211; 1983 a. 485; 1991 a. 316; 1999 a, 85; 2013 a. 114; 2017 a. 304, 331,
@e also ch. FD 1, Wis. adm. code. v

#++*NOTE: Here, I struck out the requirement that the apprenticeship be completed
after the approved certification class. In this case, this should be fine since that class
needs to be completed in order for an apprenticeship to begin in the first place (see below).

SECTION 4. 445.095 (1) (a) of the statutes is renumbered 445.095 (1) (a) 1.

o
#*«NOTE: [ did a bit more reorganization in this section, in partgt/make the change

below, in d., more parseable. But if you’d rather not do any of the “cleanup” or have any
questions, let me know.

(intro.) and amended to read:

445.095 (1) (a) 1. (intro.) A person desiring to become an apprentice as a funeral
director and who satisfies all of the following shall apply on a form provided for the

purpose and appear before the examining board;, or any duly appointed

representative of the examining board.— The applicationshall state that-the;
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a. The applicant is 18 years of age or older;.

b. The applicant holds a high school diploma or possesses equivalent educaﬁon
as defined by the examining board;.

c.. The applicant does not have an arrest or convictioh record, subject to ss.
111.321, 111.322, and 111.335;-and.

d. The applicant has completed a 16-hour certification class approved by the

examining board or has satisfied the requirement under s. 445.045 (1) (e).

taken again for people who fail to get a license afterB/years. Ileft that alone, but if that
needs to be modified for the unlikely scenario that someo
mortuary science class did not finish an apprenticeship in@y

*#+NOTE: Does this work? See also s. 445.10 (a(), which kequires the class to be

who had completed a
ears, let me know.

v
2. The application under subd. 1. must be substantiated by the oath of the

applicant and-be-accompanied by,
1. e. The applicant pays the fee specified in s. 440.05 (6).
3. When the examining board is satisfied asto-the-qualificationof that an

applicant for apprenticeship satisfies the requirements for granting a certificate of

apprenticeship, it shall issue grant the applicant a certificate of apprenticeship.
(3r) When the an apprentice enters the employment of a licensed funeral
director, the apprentice shall immediately notify the examining board, giving the
name and place of business of the funeral director whose service the apprentice has
entered. If, at any time thereafter, the apprentice leaves the employment of the
licensed funeral director whose service the apprentice has entered, the licensed
funeral director shall give the apprentice an affidavit showing the length of time
served as an apprentice with that employer, and the work done in detail, which
affidavit shall be filed with the examining board and made a matter of record in that
office. If the apprentice thereafter enters the employment of another licensed

funeral director in this state, the applicant shall forthwith report such employment
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to the examining board. No person may serve or attempt to serve as an apprentice

under a funeral director until the person has notified the examining board as
required under this subsection.

1971 c. 164, 228; 1975 c. 39 5. 732 (2); 1975 c. 199; 1977 c. 29; 1979 c. 175 ss. 29, 53; 1979 c. 221 ss. 662, 2202 (45); Stats. 1979 s. 445.095; 1981 c. 20, 162,
801981 c. 391 5. 211; 1983 a. 485; 1991 a. 39; 1995 a. 27 s, 9130 (4); 1997 a. 3; 2005 a. 266; 2009 a. 291; 2017 a. 304.

#NOTE: I moved this block of text to a separate provision as it deals more with
regulation of apprentices, not the granting of the certificate of gpprenticeship. I put the
related and somewhat redundant material from s. 445.095 (5) here at the end as well.

er~See also chs. FD 1 and 2, Wis, adm. code,

"SECTION 5. 445.095 (1) (b) of the statutes is renumbered 445.095 (2m).
SECTION 6. 445.095 (1) (d) and (e) of the statutes are consolidated, renumbered
445.095 (3g) and amended to read:

445.095 (8g) All apprentices registered under this section shall report at least

semiannually to the examining board upon forms provided by the examining beard.

department. Failure to submit the required reports shall constitute justification
grounds for termination of the apprenticeship. (e} The semiannual report must shall
show the number of hours served by the apprentice and, the number of bodies the
apprentice has assisted in embalming;or otherwise prepared for burial or disposition

during such period, and the number of funeral services at which the apprentice has

assisted, and give sueh any other information as maybe required by the examining
board. The data contained in the report shall be certified to as correct by the licensed

funeral director under whom the apprentice has served during such that period.

@;?1”1971 c. 164, 228; 1975 c. 39 5. 732 (2); 1975 ¢. 199; 1977 ¢. 29; 1979 c. 175 ss. 29, 53; 1979 c. 221 ss. 662, 2202 (45); Stats. 1979 s, 445.095; 1981 c. 20, 162,
0:198] c. 39

1s.211; 1983 a. 485; 1991 a. 39; 1995 a. 27 5. 9130 (4); 1997 a. 3; 2005 a. 266; 2009 a, 291.

sz]so chs. FD 1 and 2, Wis, adm. code.

#+*NOTE: This eliminates outdated and redundant language and makes a change
to reflect the fact that DSPS, not the board, generally prescribes and provides forms.

SECTION 7. 445.095 (5) of the statutes is repealed.

SEcTION 8. Nonstatutory provisions.
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(1) The funeral directors examining board may promulgate emergency rules
under section 227.24 of the statutes necessary to implement this act.
Notwithstanding section 227.24 (1) (c) and (2) of the statutes, emergency rules
promulgated under this subsection remain in effect until May 1, 2022, or the date on
which permanent rules take effect, whichever is sooner. Notwithstanding section
227.24 (1) (a) and (3) of the statutes, the examining board is not required to provide
evidence that promulgating a rule under this subsection as an emergency rule is
necessary for the preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare and is
not required to provide a finding of emergency for a rule promulgated under this
subsection.

=+NOTE: Following the changes last session, which had a é’ns‘oith dﬁed Jf‘l‘-"{ﬁfi ,
effective date, the board did emergency rules so as to get them in place by the effective
date. This gives them explicit authority to do emergency rules for these changes as well
so the “board can do rules right away to implement the bill. See
https://docéflegis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/20 18/754A3/register/emr/emr1823 rule t
ext/emr1823_rule_text.

SEcTION 9. Initial applicability.

(1) The treatment of s. 445.045 (1) (d), (e), and () first applies to an application
for a funeral director license submitted by an applicant who submitted an application
for a certificate of apprenticeship on the effective date of this subsection.

(2) The treatment of s. 445.095 (1) (a) first applies to an application for a
certificate of apprenticeship submitted by an applicant on the effective date of this
subsection.

SEcTiON 10. Effective dates. This act takes effect on the first day of the 7th
month beginning after publication, except as follows:

ST%
#=NOTE: I pulled the same effective date (roughly qmonths) as last time. Let me
know if you want something different.
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A&
(1) SectiON 8 (1) of this act takes effect on the day after publication.

(END)
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AN ACT to repeal 445.095 (5); to renumber 445.095 (1) (b); to renumber and
amend 445.095 (1) (a); to consolidate, renumber and amend 445.095 (D) (D)
and (e); and to amend 445.045 (1) (d), 445.045 (1) (e) and 445.045 (1) () of the
statutes; relating to: requirements for funeral director apprenticeships and
licenses, extending the time limit for emergency rule procedures, and providing

an exemption from emergency rule procedures.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau ‘
Thisis a preliminary draft. An analysis will be providedin a subsequent version
of this draft.

For further information see the state fiscal estimate, which will be printed as
an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 445.045 (1) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:
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445.045 (1) (d) The person must have completed -2- one academic years year
of instruction in a recognized college or university, in a course of study approved by
the exemining board, or have equivalent education.
SECTION 2. 445.045 (1) (e) of the statutes is amended to read:
445.045 (1) (e) The perSon must have satisfactorily completed 9 months or more

of instruction in a prescribed course in mortuary science approved by the examining

board a

*xNOTE: Here, I simply-struck out the requirs ent that the mortuary science

lass. "OK?~

program-be-completed after thﬁgfpprovedcertlﬁcatlon c

SECTION 3. 445.045 (1) (f) of the statutes is amended to read:

445.045 (1) (f) The person must have completed one year of apprenticeship as
prescribed in s. 445.095 ata

class-deseribed-in-s-445.095-(1)-(a)-and, either before or after taking the course in

mortuary science required by par. (e), and must have satisfied the requirement under

s. 445.095 (4).

- ****NOTE H. ut the requirement that the apprentlceshlp be completed
o after the approved certification ' e
need§tobé&co

eshlp to begln 1rLthe First: ‘place(see below) _

SECTION 4. 445.095 (1) (a) of the statutes is renumbered 445.095 (1) (a) 1.

(intro.) and amended to read'

below, %;dffnore parsed]
questions, let me know

445.095 (1) (a) 1. (intro.) A person desiring to become an apprentice as a funeral
director and who satisfies all of the following shall apply on a form provided for the

purpose and appear before the examining board; or any duly appointed

representative of the examining board—The-application shall state that-the;
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a. The applicant is 18 years of age or older;,

b. The applicant holds a high school diploma or possesses equivalent education
as defined by the examining board;.

c. The applicant does not have an arrest or conviction record, subject to ss.
111.321, 111.322, and 111.335;-and.

d. The applicant has completed a 16-hour certification class approved by the
examining board or has satisfied the requirement under s. 445.045 (1) (e).

wx NOTE: Does thls” fvﬁork? See alsoss. 445.10 17 Whlch requ'
taken agaln for people’ who fail to get alicense aft h
needs to be modified for the unlikely scenari that “som
‘mortuary smence class did not fifiish an apprenticeship in fivé years, f[et%

8 t}le class to be,

2. The application under subd. 1. must be substantiated by the oath of the
applicant and-be-accompanied by.

1. e. The applicant pays the fee specified in s. 440.05 (6).

3. When the examining board is satisfied as-to-the-qualificationof that an

applicant for apprenticeship satisfies the requirements for granting a certificate of
apprenticeship, it shall issue grant the applicant a certificate of apprenticeship.

(3r) When the an appfentice enters the employment of a licensed funeral
director, the apprentice shall immediately notify the examining board, giving the
name and place of business of the funeral director whose service the apprentice has
entered. If, at any time thereafter, the apprentice leavés the employment of the
licensed funeral director whose service the apprentice has entered, the licensed
funeral director shall give the apprentice an affidavit showing the length of time
served as an apprentice with that employer, and the work done in detail, which
affidavit shall be filed with the examining board and made a matter of record in that
office. If the apprentice thereafter enters the employment of another licensed

funeral director in this state, the applicant shall forthwith report such employment
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to the examining board. No person may serve or attempt to serve as an apprentice
under a funeral director until the person has notified the examining board as

required under this subsection.
e 7 -

FeA N OTE: Imoved»thl loek of £ Ser "rate proyﬁ;sl n
{?w@‘én/oof appren;}peﬁﬂlot E}}@‘é‘r it P“t‘”ﬁe certlﬁﬁ(;

related and %omewhafredu&dant ‘materialf Sma

SECTION 5. 445.095 (1) (b) of the statutes is renumbered 445.095 (2m).
SECTION 6. 445.095 (1) (d) and (e) of the statutes are consolidated, renumbered

445.095 (3g) and amended to read:

445.095 (3g) All apprentices registered under this section shall report at least

semiannually to the examining board upon forms provided by the examining board.

department. Failure to submit the required reports shall constitute justification
grounds for termination of the apprehticeship. e} The semiannual report must shall
show the number of hours served by the apprentice and, the number of bodies the
apprentice has assisted in embalming; or otherwise prepared for burial or disposition

during such period, and the number of funeral services at which the apprentice has

assisted, and give sueh any other information asmay be required by the examining
board. The data contained in the report shall be certified to as correct by the licensed

funeral director under whom the apprentice has served during sueh that period.

SECTION 7. 445.095 (5) of the statutes is fépealed.

SEcTION 8. Nonstatutory provisions.
(1) The funeral directors examining board may promulgate emergency rules
under section 227.24 of the statutes necessary to implement this act.

Notwithstanding section 227.24 (1) (c) and (2) of the statutes, emergency rules
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promulgated under this subsection remain in effect until May 1, 2022, or the date on
which permanent rules take effect, ‘whichever is sooner. Notwithstanding section
227.24 (1) (a) and (3) of the statutes, the examining board is not required to provide
evidence that promulgating a rule under this subsection as an emergency rule is
necessary for the preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare and is
not required to provide a finding of emergency for a rule promulgated under this
subsection. |

****NOTE Following the changes last session,” “which had a six-month delayed :
effective date, the board did emergency rules soas to get them in place by the effectlve
date This- glves them exp11c1t authority to.do emergency rules for these changes as well

~the board.-can do. ‘rules rlght -away to. implement the* bill. See
https //doéslégis. WlSCOHSln gov/code/reglster/ZO18/754A3/reg1ster/emr/emr1823 rule B
ext/emr1823_rule text!

SECTION 9. Initial applicability.

(1) The treatment of s. 445.045 (1) (d), (e), and (f) first applies to an application
for a funeral director license submitted by an applicant who submitted an application
for a certificate of apprenticeship on the effective date of this subsection.

(2) The treatment of s. 445.095 (1) (a) first applies to an application for a
certificate of apprenticeship submitted by an applicant on the effective date of this
subsection.

SEcTION 10. Effective dates. This act takes effect on the first day of the 7th

month beginning after publication, except as follows

(1 SECTION 8 (1) of th1s act takes effect on the day after publication.

(END)



Duchek, Michael

From: Johnson, Jesse

Sent: Tuesday, September 17, 2019 9:35 AM
To: Duchek, Michael

Subject: RE: Funeral Director draft -3710

Interesting....thanks. Yea, glad we can chat about it — kind of a unique program that we’re working with.

From: Duchek, Michael <Michael.Duchek@legis.wisconsin.gov>
Sent: Tuesday, September 17, 2019 9:23 AM

To: Johnson, Jesse <Jesse.Johnson@legis.wisconsin.gov>
Subject: RE: Funeral Director draft -3710

By the way, the other thing | was told was that 12 credits/semester is a federal standard for what is considered full-time,
| think for purposes of financial aid. So it does sound like that is a standard for what is considered “attending” full-time,
but | would note that | assume that just because you attended full-time doesn’t mean you passed all your courses, so it
will be good to talk about how to word it best.

-Mike

From: Johnson, Jesse <Jesse.lohnson®@legis.wisconsin.gov>
Sent: Tuesday, September 17, 2019 9:20 AM

To: Duchek, Michael <Michael.Duchek@legis.wisconsin.gov>
Subject: RE: Funeral Director draft -3710

Okay, great. Thanks. Sure — would like to do that but Nancy is chairing a hearing at 1 that day and we have some things
on the schedule prior so we’ll say 4:15 over in our office again if that works.

Jesse

From: Duchek, Michael <Michael.Duchek@legis.wisconsin.gov>
Sent: Monday, September 16, 2019 4:47 PM

To: Johnson, Jesse <Jesse.Johnson@legis.wisconsin.gov>
Subject: Re: Funeral Director draft -3710

That's fine. |just try to go to the Unemployment Insurance Advisory Council meeting which is at 10 and
usually is done by an hour so 1130 would be pretty safe too.

Get Qutlook for Android

On Mon, Sep 16, 2019 at 4:30 PM -0500, "Johnson, Jesse" <Jesse.Johnson@legis.wisconsin.gov> wrote:

4157

From: Duchek, Michael <Michael.Duchek@legis.wisconsin.gov>
Sent: Monday, September 16, 2019 4:29 PM




To: Johnson, Jesse <Jesse.Johnson@legis.wisconsin.gov>
Subject: Re: Funeral Director draft -3710

Yes. If any later that day would work that would be better but if not | can do 11.
Mike

Get Qutlook for Android

On Mon, Sep 16, 2019 at 4:23 PM -0500, "Johnson, Jesse" <Jesse.Johnson@legis.wisconsin.gov> wrote:

Thanks Mike. Can we get together one more time on this? Would like to involve Erin too like when we met initially.
If that would be okay, would Thursday morning the 19" work at like 11a? In our office if that’s okay with you.

Jesse

From: Duchek, Michael <Michael.Duchek@legis.wisconsin.gov>
Sent: Friday, September 13, 2019 11:53 AM

To: Johnson, Jesse <Jesse.Johnson@legis.wisconsin.gov>
Subject: RE: Funeral Director draft -3710

Jesse,

It seems to me what constitutes the minimum number of credits to be considered full-time and what constitutes a
year’s worth of credits might be different concepts. For example, if a four-year degree requires 120 credits, then a
year’s worth might be considered 30, not 24, as some people take a higher load in some semesters and lighter in
others and may still be considered full-time from semester to semester and still be considered full-time. So there
could be different interpretations in that sense, though | don’t think the language could be interpreted to mean more
than 30 in that example if 36 is more than what a student would usually complete in a year. Having said that, | also
don’t know how standard credits are across schools and whether the concept of “credits” varies from school to
school/private vs. public, though it sounds like you’re confident 12 is pretty standard for full-time. Otherwise, | would
say that if you have something (like full-time attendance for a year) that you think better reflects your intent, then |
can use that instead or if you're sure 12 credits is pretty standard and that reflects your intent, we could go with that
too.

-Mike

From: Johnson, Jesse <Jesse.Johnson@legis.wisconsin.gov>
Sent: Thursday, September 12, 2019 10:00 AM

To: Duchek, Michael <Michael.Duchek@®legis.wisconsin.gov>
Subject: Funeral Director draft -3710

Hi Mike,
Thanks for turning over that PT draft so quickly. Appreciate it.

On the funeral director bill, - 3710/P1, a question came up.



Section 445.045 (1)(d) - page 2, line one - states that a person must complete one academic year of an accredited
college or university prior to entering mortuary school.

The question is regarding the use of minimum number of credits vs. stating one year and why we wouldn't want to
instead detail the minimum number of credits a person would need to get into mortuary school. Could the one year
requirement could potentially be perceived as ambiguous, and potentially cause problems in the rule making process
once the bill is passed?

For example, DSPS and the funeral directors examining board could determine that a year of academic instruction is
36 credits, thereby negating someone’s ability to get into mortuary school after only two semesters of college.
Wisconsin's credit requirement for being a full time student is a minimum of 12 credits per semester.

Would it make sense to change the language to instead require a minimum of 24 credits from an accredited college or
university?

Believe you’re out today, had called first. This is not a time sensitive issue. Hope everything above makes sense. If it
works, maybe we could chat when you’re able. Would like to discuss the validity of the concern and also maybe go
over options available and maybe what has been done in statute in similar situations. It seems like there may be a few
ways to ‘slice things up’ regarding one year vs. twelve months and 24 credits, etc.

Thanks.

Jesse Johnson
Office of Representative Nancy VanderMeer
(608) 266.8366
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From: Duchek, Michael

Sent: Thursday, September 19, 2019 3:58 PM

To: Johnson, Jesse

Subject: RE: Need to Cancel this afternoons meeting

Jesse, | talked to Erin and | just wanted to share this that | found for you to pass on:
https://wwwz2.ed.gov/about/offices/list/ous/international/usnei/us/credits.doc

We talked about referring to 30 credits, and | think to make clear | can use the phrase “30 semester credits.” There are
apparently some schools that use quarter credits and there is an understood formula for converting them, and so | could
also put in a number of quarter credits if they thought that might also be necessary (I did find some provisions that
reference both semester and quarter credits). But otherwise my main point is that the concept of “semester credits” is
standard enough that | think it should work to just say that and the number (which, it sounds like 30 would be the
number).

-Mike

From: Johnson, Jesse <Jesse.Johnson@legis.wisconsin.gov>
Sent: Thursday, September 19, 2019 3:01 PM

To: Duchek, Michael <Michael.Duchek@legis.wisconsin.gov>
Subject: RE: Need to Cancel this afternoons meeting

Great. Thanks

From: Duchek, Michael <Michael.Duchek@legis.wisconsin.gov>
Sent: Thursday, September 19, 2019 3:00 PM

To: Johnson, Jesse <Jesse.Johnson@legis.wisconsin.gov>
Subject: RE: Need to Cancel this afternoons meeting

Of course, anytime.

From: Johnson, Jesse <Jesse.Johnson@legis.wisconsin.gov>
Sent: Thursday, September 19, 2019 3:00 PM

To: Duchek, Michael <Michael.Duchek@legis.wisconsin.gov>
Subject: RE: Need to Cancel this afternoons meeting

Thanks Mike. Erin wanted to just give you a call on it because they’re anxious about moving things forward. She wanted
to call you directly and that’s okay with me if it's okay with you. Appreciate it.

From: Duchek, Michael <Michael.Duchek@legis.wisconsin.gov>
Sent: Thursday, September 19, 2019 2:12 PM

To: Johnson, Jesse <Jesse.Johnson@legis.wisconsin.gov>
Subject: RE: Need to Cancel this afternoons meeting

I think either should work, let me know.



From: Johnson, Jesse <Jesse.Johnson@legis.wisconsin.gov>
Sent: Thursday, September 19, 2019 2:07 PM

To: Duchek, Michael <Michael.Duchek@!legis.wisconsin.gov>
Subject: Need to Cancel this afternocons meeting
Importance: High

Hi Mike,

Sorry to have to do it, but | can no longer meet this afternoon. Erin had something unexpected come up too,
unfortunately.

What does Monday or Tuesday this coming week look like for you?

Jesse Johnson
Office of Representative Nancy VanderMeer
(608) 266.8366



Duchek, Michael
.

e .

From: Erin Longmire <erinlongmireconsulting@gmail.com>
Sent: Friday, September 20, 2019 9:05 AM

To: Duchek, Michael

Cc: Johnson, Jesse

Subject: MATC Credits Draft

Hello Mike -

I've talked with MATC and they feel more comfortable requiring a 24 credit requirement prior to entering their
mortuary school program, as their program is at least 37 credits to complete.

Would you please amend the draft accordingly? Also, this would be the final changes, so please make this the
final version.

Thank you again for your time yesterday.
Best,

Erin Longmire

FSCA Executive Director
PO Box 67

Madison, WI 53701

P: (608)204-0306

F: (608)237-2299

C: (608)444-6214
www.fsawisconsin.org




e

S Ot B~ W N

|
s

State of Wisconsin |
2019 - 2020 LEGISLATURE e
AP LRB-3710/P2

E&l/% |~ 20t MED:cdc

PRELIMINARY DRAFT - NoT READY FOR INTRODUCTION

AN ACT to repeal 445095 (5); to renumber 445.095 (1) (b); to renumber and
amend 445.095 (1) (a); to consolidate, renumber and amend 445.095 (1) (d)
and (e); and to‘,,a"mend 445.045 (1) (d), 445.045 (1) (e) and 445.045 (1) (f) of the
statutes; reléﬁng to: requirements for funeral director apprenticeships and -
licenses, exfending the time limit for emergency rule procedures, and providing

an exemption from emergency rule procedures.

e Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

Thisis a preliminary draft. An analysis will be provided in a subsequent version -
of this draft. ~

~For further information see the state fiscal estimate, which will be printed as

an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 445.045 (1) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:
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ra SECTION 1
::r;T 8 /,! § g i

.

445.045 (1) (d) The person must have completed —?r@g gcademleyea%sa
of instruction in a recognized college or university, iﬁ a course (;f study apprm;ed by
the examining board, or have equivalent education.

SECTION 2. 445.045 (1) (e) of the statutes is amended to read:

445.045 (1) (e) The person must have satisfactorily completed 9 months or more

of instruction in a prescribed course in mortuary science approved by the examining

board at

SECTION 3. 445.045 (1) (f) of the statutes is amended to read:
445.045 (1) (f) The person must have completed one year of apprenticeship as
prescribed in s. 445.095 at

elass-deseribed-in-5-445.095-(1)(a)-and, either before or after taking the course in

mortuary science required by par. (e), and must have satisfied the requirement under

s. 445.095 (4).

SECTION 4. 445.095 (1) (a) of the statutes is renumbered 445.095 (1) (a) 1.
(intro.) and amended to read:

445.095 (1) (a) 1. (intro.) A person desiring tobecome an apprentice as a funeral

director and who satisfies all of the following shall apply on a form provided for the

- purpose and appear before the examining board; or any duly appointed

representative of the examining board. The-application shall state that-the:

a. The applicant is 18 years of age or older;,

b. The applicant holds a high school diploma or possesses equivalent education
as defined by the exarhining board;.

c._The applicant does not have an arrest or conviction record, subject to ss.
111.321, 111.322, and 111.335,-and.
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SECTION 4

d. The applicant has completed a 16-hour certification class approved by the
examining board or has satisfied the requirement under s. 445.045 (1) (e).

2. The application under subd. 1. must be substantiated by the oath of the
applicant and be-accompanied by,

1. e. The applicant pays the fee specified in s. 440.05 (6).

3. When the exarﬁining board is satisfied as-te-the qualification-of that an

applicant for apprenticeship satisfies the requirements for granting a certificate of
apprenticeship, it shall issue grant the applicant a certificate of apprenticeship.

(3r) When the an apprentice enters the employment of a licensed funeral
director, the apprentice shall immediately notify the examining board, giving the
name and place of business of the funeral director whose service the apprentice has
entered. If, at any time thereafter, the apprentice leaves the employment of the
licensed funeral director whose service the apprentice has entered, the licensed
funeral director shall give the apprentice an affidavit showing the length of time
served as an apprentice with that employer, and the work done in detail, which
affidavit shall be filed with the examining board and made a matter of record in that
office. If the apprentice thereafter enters the employment of another licensed

funeral director in this state, the applicant shall forthwith report such employment

to the examining board. No person may serve or attempt to serve as an apprentice
under a funeral director until the person has notified the examining board as
required under this subsection. |
SECTION 5. 445.095 (1) (b) of the statutes is renumbered 445.095 (2m).
SECTION 6. 445.095 (1) (d) and (e) of the statutes are consolidated, renumbered

445.095 (3g) and amended to read:
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SECTION 6

445.095 (3g) All apprentices registered under this section shall report at least.

semiannually to the examining board upon forms provided by the examining beard.

department. Failure to submit the required reports shall constitute justification

grounds for termination of the apprenticeship. {e} The semiannual repoft must ghall
show the number of hours served by the apprentice and, the number of bodies the
apprentice has assisted in embalming; or otherwise prepared for burial or disposition
during such period, and the number of funeral services at which the apprentice has
assisted, and give sueh any other information asmay be required by the examining
board. The data contained in the report shall be certified to as correct by the licensed
funeral director under whom the apprentice has served during such that pefiod.

SECTION 7. 445.095 (6) of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 8. Nonstatutory provisions.

(1) The funeral directors examining board may promulgate emergency rules
under section 227.24 .of the statutes necessary to implemenf this act.
Notwithstanding section 227.24 (1) (c) and (2) of the statutes, emergency rules
promulgated under this subsection remain in effect until May 1, 2022, or the date on
which permanent rules take effect, whichever is sooner. Notwithstanding section
227.24 (1) (a) and (3) of the statutes, the examining board is not required to provide
evidence that promulgating a rule under this subsection as an emergency rule is
necessary for the preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare and is
not required to provide a finding of emergency for a rule promulgated under this
subsection.

SECTION 9. Initial applicability.
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SECTION 9

(1) The treatment of s. 445.045 (1) (d), (e), and (f) first applies to an application
for a funeral director license submitted by an applicant who submitted an application
for a certificate of apprenticeship on the effective date of this subsection.

(2) The treatment of s. 445.095 (1) (a) first applies to an application for a
certificate of apprenticeship submitted by an applicant on the effective date of this
subsection.

SEcTION 10. Effective dates. This act takes effect on the first day of the 7th .
month beginning after publication, except as follows:

(1) SectiON 8 (1) of this act takes effect nn the day after publication.

(END)
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INSERT ANALYSIS

Currently, in order to be eligible for a funeral director license, an individual
must, in addition to satisfying other requirements, have 1) completed a funeral
director apprenticeship, 2) completed two academic years of instruction in a
recognized college or university; and 3) completed nine months or more instruction
in a prescribed course in mortuary science. Current law requires that the nine
months of mortuary science be completed after completing a 16-hour certification
class, which is a prerequisite to beginning the apprenticeship.

This bill 1) requires 24 semester credits of education, instead of two years, in
order to be granted a funeral director license; and 2) eliminates the requirement that
the nine months of instruction in mortuary science be completed after completing a
16-hour certification class. The bill further provides that if an individual completes
the nine months of instruction in mortuary science before beginning an
apprenticeship, the 16-hour certification class is not required to begin the
apprenticeship.

The bill also makes various nonsubstantive organizational changes to the laws
governing funeral directors.
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From:
Sent:
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Johnson, Jesse

Friday, October 11, 2019 4:59 PM
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