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LRB Number 19-2868/1 Introduction Number AB-0582 Estimate Type  Original

Description
the use of a wireless communication device while driving and providing a penalty

Assumptions Used in Arriving at Fiscal Estimate

Under state statute, no forfeiture collected from traffic violations is distributed to DOT, thus there is no fiscal effect
on DOT.

Local governments would see an increase in revenue from the forfeiture collected from traffic citations. The exact
amount of citations that would be issued is unclear. The State of Washington signed similar legislation into place
in 2017 and saw a total of 6,475 citations issued in the first six months of implementation, which if holding
constant would mean a total of 12,950 citations for the full year. Wisconsin has approximately 78.6% the number
of licensed drivers that Washington has, which would mean a total of approximately 10,179 citations if the same
proportion of citations to drivers is issued in Wisconsin.

The legislation amends statute so that the maximum forfeiture that may be assessed for first offense is $50,
however it is likely that the amount will be set to a lower amount, such as what is assessed currently ($20) for
using a hand-held wireless communication device in a construction zone. For convictions in circuit court, half of
the forfeiture will go to the county in which the citation is issued while those convinced in municipal court will see
100% of their forfeiture going to the municipality.

Using the assumption of 10,179 yearly citations and that approximately 42.2% of convictions under this law
would come from a circuit court, the result would be $42,955-$107,388 for county governments and
$117,669-$294,173 for municipal governments depending on the level the forfeiture is set at. For local
governments, this would mean a total of as low as $160,624 if set at $20 or as high as $401,561 if it is set to the
maximum allowed by the bill.

The IT work required to account for the changes to the charging statutes would cost approximately $23,300 and
require approximately 3 months to implement.

Long-Range Fiscal Implications

It is likely that this range will fluctuate as time passes, as increased awareness of the penalty will likely lead to
less violations over time (less revenue) but will also create second and subsequent offenders (more revenue).



State of Wisconsin
Wisconsin Department of Transportation

MEMORANDUM
To: Executive Offices
From: Division of State Patrol
Date: 10/29/19
Subject: Analysis for AB-582 relating to: The use of a wireless communication device while driving and

providing a penalty.

1. Effect on Existing State Law
Under current law, there is no state statute that explicitly prohibits the use of a wireless communication
device while driving. Inattentive driving of a motor vehicle is prohibited, which means that a driver of a
motor vehicle may not be engaged with an activity that would interfere with the safe driving of the
vehicle.

This bill would amend state statute so that drivers of a motor vehicle are prohibited from using a
wireless communication device, except for certain hands-free use, use by law enforcement officials, or
use related to an emergency. Persons who violate this prohibition may be required to forfeit not more
than $50 for first offense, not more than $100 for second offense, and not more than $150 for third and
subsequent offenses. There is already an explicit prohibition in Wisconsin state statute on texting while
driving, this would be unaffected by this legisiation.

2. Legislative Action in Previous Session
In previous legislative sessions, there have been successful attempts to limit the use of wireless
communication devices while driving, though most of these have been for much more narrow cases.
For example, in the 2015-16 session Act 308 was signed into law which prohibited the use of a
handheld wireless communication device in a construction zone.

However, legislation taking a broad approach to the issue like SB-522 has been introduced but has
typically not made it out of committee. In the 2017-18 legislative session, AB-662/SB-608 would have
codified an explicit prohibition of using a handheld wireless communication device while driving,
although it would have introduced a different penalty structure. The bill never received a public hearing
after introduction.

3. Policy Significance
This bill would prohibit hand-held celiphone use while driving and would require law enforcement
officers to cite vehicle owners who are found using their hand-held device while driving. There are no
criminal penalties infroduced in this legislation, as drivers in violation of this requirement would simply
be issued a ticket for forfeiture.

4, Administrative Significance
Under this bill, law enforcement officers would pull over and cite drivers in violation of using a hand-
held wireless communication device while driving. The officer would need to verify that the device was
not for the use of an emergency and would undertake the same steps that would be seenin a
traditional traffic violation stop.

Revenue collected from forfeiture in circuit courts would be distributed 50% to the county where a
citation is issued, while 50% would go to the state common school fund. Revenue collected from
forfeiture in municipal courts would be distributed 100% to the municipality that issued the citation.

5. Fiscal Effect



Under state statute, no forfeiture collected from traffic violations is distributed to DOT, thus there is no
fiscal effect on DOT.

Local governments would see an increase in revenue from the forfeiture collected from traffic citations.
The exact amount of citations that would be issued is unclear. The State of Washington signed similar
legislation into place in 2017 and saw a total of 6,475 citations issued in the first six months of
implementation, which if holding constant would mean a total of 12,950 citations for the full year.
Wisconsin has approximately 78.6% the number of licensed drivers that Washington has, which would
mean a total of approximately 10,179 citations if the same proportion of citations to drivers is issued in
Wisconsin.

The legislation amends statute so that the maximum forfeiture that may be assessed for first offense is
$50, however it is likely that the amount will be set to a lower amount, such as what is assessed
currently ($20) for using a hand-held wireless communication device in a construction zone. For
convictions in circuit court, half of the forfeiture will go to the county in which the citation is issued while
those convinced in municipal court will see 100% of their forfeiture going to the municipality.

Using the assumption that approximately 42.2% of convictions under this law would come from a
circuit court, the result would be $42,955-$107,388 for county governments and $117,669-$294,173
for municipal governments, depending on the level the forfeiture is set at. For local governments, this
would mean a total of as low as $160,624 if set at $20 or as high as $401,561 if it is set to the
maximum allowed by the bill. It is likely that this range will fluctuate as time passes, as increased
awareness of the penalty will likely lead to less violations over time (less revenue) but will also create
second and subsequent offenders (more revenue).

Laws in Other States

Currently there are twenty states as well as the District of Columbia that explicitly prohibit hand-held
cellphone use while operating a motor vehicle. Among other midwestern states, Wisconsin is not the
only one to have not yet passed legislation as lowa and indiana have not either. However, lllinois and
Minnesota both signed into law legislation earlier this year, and Michigan along with Ohio allow for
local municipalities to prohibit hand-held cell phone use while driving.

On the website of the NCSL, there is a complete list of which states have prohibited hand-held cell
phone use and to which extent.

Summary and Recommendation

The intent of this bill is to explicitly prohibit hand-held cell phone use while operating a motor vehicle
except under specific circumstances and outlines the maximum forfeiture that would be assessed for a
violation.

This bill is a companion to SB-522, which was introduced in the State Senate on 10/25/19.

Prepared by
Jeremy Kloss — Program and Policy Analyst, Wisconsin DSP
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the use of a wireless communication device while driving and providing a penalty

annualized fiscal effect):

I. One-time Costs or Revenue Impacts for State and/or Local Government (do not include in

The T work required to account for the changes to the charging statutes would cost approximately
$23,300 and require approximately 3 months to implement.

Il. Annualized Costs:

Annualized Fisca

| Impact on funds from:

Increased Costsl

Decreased Costs

A. State Costs by Category

State Operations - Salaries and Fringes

$0

(FTE Position Changes)

State Operations - Other Costs

Local Assistance

Aids to Individuals or Organizations

TOTAL State Costs by Category

$0

B. State Costs by Source of Funds

GPR

FED

PRO/PRS

SEG/SEG-S

(e.g., tax increase, decrease in license fee, ets.)

lll. State Revenues - Complete this only when proposal will increase or decrease state revenues

Increased Rev Decreased Rev
GPR Taxes $0 $
GPR Earned
FED
PRO/PRS
SEG/SEG-S
| TOTAL sState Revenues $0 $
NET ANNUALIZED FISCAL IMPACT
State Local
NET CHANGE IN COSTS $0 $
NET CHANGE IN REVENUE $0 $
Agency/Prepared By Authorized Signature Date
DOT/ Robert Combs (608) 266-1449 Joan Meier (608) 267-6978 1/24/2020




