

# STATE OF WISCONSIN Senate Journal

# One-Hundred and Fourth Regular Session

# 1:17 P.M.

The Senate met.

The Senate was called to order by Senator Fitzgerald.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (6), the Chief Clerk made the following entries under the above date.

# INTRODUCTION, FIRST READING, AND REFERENCE OF PROPOSALS

Read and referred:

#### **Senate Joint Resolution 5**

Relating to: proclaiming February 2019 to be American Heart Month in Wisconsin.

By Senators Darling, Shilling, Bewley, Carpenter, Erpenbach, Feyen, Hansen, Jacque, Johnson, Marklein, Olsen, Petrowski, Risser, Roth, Schachtner, Smith, L. Taylor and Wanggaard; cosponsored by Representatives Ballweg, Billings, Brandtjen, Brostoff, Considine, Dittrich, Duchow, Goyke, Hebl, Jagler, Kolste, Kulp, Magnafici, Meyers, Milroy, Murphy, Mursau, Myers, Novak, Pronschinske, Ramthun, Rohrkaste, Schraa, Sinicki, Skowronski, Spiros, Spreitzer, Steffen, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel, Wittke, Zamarripa, Zimmerman, Fields and Rodriguez.

To the committee on Senate Organization.

#### **Senate Joint Resolution 6**

Relating to: recognizing March 1, 2019, as National Speech and Debate Education Day in Wisconsin.

By Senators Shilling, Bewley, Carpenter, Hansen, Jacque, Risser, Schachtner, L. Taylor, Wirch and Ringhand; cosponsored by Representatives Billings, Anderson, Ballweg, Hebl, Milroy, Myers, Ohnstad, Sargent, Shankland, Sinicki, Spreitzer, Subeck, C. Taylor, Thiesfeldt and Zamarripa.

To the committee on Senate Organization.

# **REPORT OF COMMITTEES**

The committee on Senate Organization reported:

Public hearing requirement waived, pursuant to Senate Rule 18 (1m):

#### Assembly Bill 4

Ayes: 3 - Senators Fitzgerald, Roth and Feyen. Noes: 2 – Senators Shilling and Bewley.

## TUESDAY, February 12, 2019

Placed the following appointments and proposals on the Senate Calendar of Wednesday, February 13, 2019:

#### Senate Joint Resolution 6 Assembly Joint Resolution 3 Assembly Joint Resolution 8 Assembly Bill 4

Ayes: 3 - Senators Fitzgerald, Roth and Feyen. Noes: 2 – Senators Shilling and Bewley.

SCOTT FITZGERALD Chairperson

# **PETITIONS AND COMMUNICATIONS**

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representative Ohnstad added as a cosponsor of **Senate Bill 19**.

#### State of Wisconsin Office the Senate Majority Leader

February 11, 2019

The Honorable, the Senate:

Effective as of the date of this letter, and in consultation with Senate Minority Leader Shilling, I am making the following appointments to the Speaker's Task Force on Water Quality:

Senator Rob Cowles Senator André Jacque Senator Mark Miller Senator Patrick Testin

Sincerely, SCOTT FITZGERALD Majority Leader

> State of Wisconsin Wisconsin Ethics Commission

February 12, 2019

The Honorable, the Senate:

Pursuant to Wis. Stats. §13.685 (7), we are providing the enclosed information. Please visit the Wisconsin Ethics Commission's *Eye on Lobbying* website, <u>https://lobbying.wi.gov</u>, for more detailed information about

lobbyists, lobbying principals (organizations), and state agency liaisons.

Allen, David	Wisconsin Auctioneers Association
Bauer, Kurt	Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce
Erikson, Michele	Wisconsin Literacy Inc
Esenberg, Richard	Wisconsin Institute for Law & Liberty
Fonfara, Thomas	Turo Inc.
Foti, Tyler	Wisconsin Health Information Organization
Lemke, Dawn	Church Mutual Insurance Company
McCoshen, William	University of Wisconsin -Eau Claire Foundation
Meyer, Scott	Turo Inc.
Moede, Peggy	Americash Loans of WI, LLC
Moede, Peggy	PLS Financial Services Inc.
Norman, Paul	Wisconsin Automobile and Truck Dealers Association, Inc.
Pfaff, Shawn	University of Wisconsin -Eau Claire Foundation
Pfaff, Shawn	Wisconsin Auctioneers Association
Sellen, Jayme	Greater Green Bay Chamber
Shepherd, Jeremey	Gathering Waters: Wisconsin's Alliance for Land Trusts
Stickler, Nicole	Milwaukee County
Timberlake, Karen	Wisconsin Health Information Organization
Vance, Vaughn	Health Tradition Health Plan, Inc.
Vance, Vaughn	WEA Insurance Corporation
Sincerely, DANIEL A. CARLTON, J. Administrator	R.

# **Messages from the Assembly**

By Patrick E. Fuller, chief clerk.

Mr. President:

I am directed to inform you that the Assembly has

Adopted and asks concurrence in:

Assembly Joint Resolution 3 Assembly Joint Resolution 4 Assembly Joint Resolution 6 Assembly Joint Resolution 8 Passed and asks concurrence in: Assembly Bill 4

# MESSAGES FROM THE Assembly Considered

#### Assembly Joint Resolution 3

Relating to: proclaiming February 2019 to be American Heart Month in Wisconsin.

By Representatives Ballweg, Billings, Brandtjen, Brostoff, Considine, Dittrich, Duchow, Goyke, Hebl, Kolste, Kulp, Meyers, Milroy, Mursau, Novak, Pronschinske, Rohrkaste, Ramthun, Schraa, Sinicki, Skowronski, Spiros, Spreitzer, Steffen, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Wittke, Zamarripa and Zimmerman; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Shilling, Bewley, Carpenter, Erpenbach, Feyen, Jacque, Olsen, Petrowski, Risser, Smith, L. Taylor and Wanggaard.

Read and referred to the committee on Senate Organization.

#### **Assembly Joint Resolution 8**

Relating to: proclaiming February 2019 as Black History Month.

By Representatives Crowley, Anderson, Billings, Bowen, Brostoff, Cabrera, Considine, Doyle, Emerson, Goyke, Gruszynski, Haywood, Hebl, Hesselbein, Hintz, Kolste, Meyers, Milroy, Myers, Neubauer, Ohnstad, Pope, Riemer, Sargent, Shankland, Sinicki, Spreitzer, Stubbs, Stuck, Subeck, C. Taylor, Vining, Vruwink, Zamarripa and Fields.

Read and referred to the committee on Senate Organization.

#### Assembly Bill 4

Relating to: increasing the maximum deduction under the individual income tax sliding scale standard deduction.

By Representatives Vos, Steineke, Nygren, Macco, Katsma, Allen, August, Ballweg, Born, Brandtjen, Dittrich, Duchow, Edming, Felzkowski, Gundrum, Horlacher, Hutton, Jagler, James, Kerkman, Knodl, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kulp, Kurtz, Loudenbeck, Magnafici, Murphy, Mursau, Novak, Oldenburg, Ott, Petersen, Petryk, Plumer, Pronschinske, Quinn, Ramthun, Rodriguez, Rohrkaste, Sanfelippo, Schraa, Skowronski, Snyder, Sortwell, Spiros, Stafsholt, Steffen, Summerfield, Swearingen, Tauchen, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel, Tusler, VanderMeer, Vorpagel, Wichgers, Wittke, Zimmerman and Brooks; cosponsored by Senators Fitzgerald, Darling, Marklein, Stroebel, Kooyenga, Kapenga, Craig, Feyen, Jacque, LeMahieu, Testin, Tiffany, Wanggaard, Bernier and Roth.

Read first time and referred to the committee on **Senate Organization**.

# ADJOURNMENT

Senator Fitzgerald, with unanimous consent, asked that the Senate stand adjourned until Wednesday, February 13, 2019.

Adjourned.