Wisconsin Legislative Council
ACT MEMO

Prepared by: Brian Larson, Senior Staff Attorney

2019 Wisconsin Act 137
[2019 Assembly Bill 576]

Funeral Director’s Licenses

BACKGROUND

State law prohibits any person from engaging in business as a funeral director without a license granted
by the Funeral Directors Examining Board (the Board). As specified in the statutes, a person must meet
the following requirements to be eligible for a funeral director’s license:

e Two academic years of instruction at a recognized college or university in a course of study
approved by the Board.

e Nine months of instruction in a prescribed course in mortuary science approved by the Board.

e Completion of a funeral director apprenticeship.

Also, the statutes require completion of a 16-hour certification class approved by the Board. The
certification must be completed prior to completion of the instruction in mortuary science and is a
prerequisite to the apprenticeship.

Currently, for renewal of a license, a funeral director must complete at least 15 hours of continuing
education during the previous two-year licensure period.

2019 WISCONSIN AcT 137

2019 Wisconsin Act 137 modifies the eligibility requirements for a funeral director’s license, as follows:

e Theactrequires a person to complete 24 semester credits of education at a recognized college or
university in a course of study approved by the Board. This replaces the current standard of two
academic years of education.

e Theact eliminates the requirement to complete the 16-hour certification class prior to completion of
the prescribed course in mortuary science.

e Under the act, the prerequisite for the apprenticeship may be satisfied in one of two ways. An
applicant must complete either the 16-hour certification class or the prescribed course in mortuary
science prior to the apprenticeship.

The act also modifies the continuing education requirements applicable to the renewal of a funeral
director’s license, as follows:

e Forrenewal of a license that expires on the first renewal date after the Board has initially granted
the license, the funeral director must have completed at least four hours of continuing education
subsequent to the date on which the initial license was granted.

e For each subsequent renewal, the funeral director must have completed at least 15 hours of
continuing education during the previous two-year licensure period, as under current law.
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The act requires the Board to promulgate rules specifying permitted or required subjects for the four
hours of continuing education applicable to the first renewal, which must be subjects that the Board
determines prepare a new licensee for practice as a funeral director.

Effective date and initial applicability: The act generally will take effect on October 1, 2020, and
the modifications relating to licensure eligibility, the apprenticeship, and continuing education will
initially apply as follows:

e Licensure eligibility modifications will initially apply to a license application submitted by an
applicant who submitted an application for a certificate of apprenticeship on October 1, 2020.

¢ Those modifications relating to requirements for the apprenticeship will initially apply to an
application for a certificate of apprenticeship on October 1, 2020.

e Continuing education modifications will initially apply to a renewal application submitted by an
applicant who submitted a license application on October 1, 2020.

Notwithstanding the above effective date, the act authorized the Board to begin the promulgation of
administrative rules under the act on March 5, 2020.
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