Senate Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Elections, Ethics and Rural Issues

Senate Bill 193

Relating to: using an electronic voting machine to cast a vote with an in-person absentee ballot and providing a penalty.

By Senators Craig, L. Taylor, Johnson, Kooyenga, Nass, Carpenter, Wanggaard, Kapenga, Jacque, Larson, Wirch and Stroebel; cosponsored by Representatives Brandtjen, Brooks, Dittrich, Duchow, Horlacher, Hutton, Knodl, Krug, Macco, L. Myers, Pronschinske, Sinicki, Tittl, Wichgers, Edming, Kuglitsch, Skowronski, Quinn, Kulp, Ramthun, Considine, Fields, Riemer and Allen.

April 30, 2019 Referred to Committee on Elections, Ethics and Rural Issues

May 29, 2019 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (5) Senator Bernier; Senators Tiffany, Kooyenga,

Miller and Smith.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Representative Janel Brandtjen 22nd Assembly Distirct
- Senator Lena Taylor 4th Senate District
- Lori Stottler City of Beloit Clerk-Treasurer
- Sandy Juno Brown County Clerk
- Carla Ledesma Wauwatosa City Clerk
- Cassandra Suettinger Village of McFarland
- Meg Wartman Waukesha County Clerk
- Sharon Leoni Town of Genesee
- Kelly Michaels Wisconsin Municipal Clerks Association
- Paul Malischke

Appearances Against

- Andrea Kaminski League of Women Voters
- Lisa Tollefson Wisconsin County Clerks Association
- Lisa Tollefson Rock County Clerk
- Debra Morin

Appearances for Information Only

- Meagan Wolfe Wisconsin Election Commission
- Richard Rydecki Wisconsin Election Commission

Registrations For

- Senator David Craig 28th Senate District
- Brenda Wood City of Milwaukee
- Curt Witynski League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Tonya O'Malley Village of McFarland
- Steven Braatz, Jr. City of West Allis
- Elena Hilby City of Sun Prairie Clerk's Office
- Joan Andrusz Wisconsin Municipal Clerks Association
- Carolyn Clow
- Meri Majeskie
- Gil Halsted

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

June 12, 2019 Executive Session Held

Present: (5) Senator Bernier; Senators Tiffany, Kooyenga, Miller and Smith.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Miller, seconded by Senator Tiffany that **Senate Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Senator Bernier; Senators Tiffany, Kooyenga, Miller and Smith.

Noes: (0) None.

SENATE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Tiffany, seconded by Senator Bernier that **Senate Bill 193** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (3) Senator Bernier; Senators Tiffany and Kooyenga.

Noes: (2) Senators Miller and Smith.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Scott Nelson

Committee Clerk