Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Government Operations, Technology and Consumer Protection

Senate Bill 187

Relating to: certification of abortion providers under the Medical Assistance program.

By Senators Stroebel, Craig, Bernier, Nass, Kapenga and Marklein; cosponsored by Representatives Dittrich, Tusler, Brooks, Duchow, Gundrum, Horlacher, Hutton, James, Katsma, Krug, Kulp, Kurtz, Loudenbeck, Murphy, Rodriguez, Rohrkaste, Sanfelippo, Schraa, Sortwell, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Ballweg, Zimmerman, Edming, Skowronski and Snyder.

April 30, 2019 Referred to Committee on Government Operations, Technology

and Consumer Protection

May 07, 2019 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (5) Senator Stroebel; Senators Kapenga, Craig,

Wirch and Smith.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Senator Duey Stroebel
- Representative Barb Dittrich
- Daniel Degner
- Christopher O'Brien
- Kim Vercauteren Wisconsin Catholic Conference

Appearances Against

• Matt Sande - Pro-Life Wisconsin

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Elizabeth Townsend-Greene
- Heather Townsend
- Seth Schmidt
- Melissa Uselman
- Frank Mau
- Joanne Van Rossum

- Kathie Mau
- Judy Abitz
- Julaine Appling Wisconsin Family Action
- Doreen Shirek
- Chelsea Duffy
- Representative Ron Tusler
- Tim Holz

Registrations Against

- Dr. Kathy Hartke American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists - Wisconsin Section
- Katrina Morrison
- Mel Barnes Planned Parenthood Advocates of Wisconsin
- HJ Waukau Wisconsin Medical Society
- Cecely Castillo Wisconsin Alliance for Women
- Sarah Gaydos
- Nicole Poellinger
- Rabbi Bonni Margulis
- Dr. Doug Laube

Registrations for Information Only

None.

May 09, 2019 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (5) Senator Stroebel; Senators Kapenga, Craig, Wirch and Smith.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Craig, seconded by Senator Kapenga that **Senate Bill 187** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (3) Senator Stroebel; Senators Kapenga and Craig.

Noes: (2) Senators Wirch and Smith.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Lucas Fuller

Committee Clerk