Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Health and Human Services

Senate Bill 173

Relating to: sex-selective, disability-selective, and other selective abortions and providing a penalty.

By Senators Testin, Craig, Bernier, Darling, Kapenga, Kooyenga, Marklein, Nass, Olsen, Stroebel and Wanggaard; cosponsored by Representatives Dittrich, Jagler, Ballweg, Duchow, Edming, Felzkowski, Gundrum, Horlacher, Hutton, James, Katsma, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kulp, Kurtz, Loudenbeck, Murphy, Ott, Quinn, Ramthun, Rodriguez, Rohrkaste, Sanfelippo, Schraa, Snyder, Sortwell, Spiros, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tusler, Vos and Skowronski.

April 22, 2019 Referred to Committee on Health and Human Services

May 07, 2019 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (5) Senator Testin; Senators Kooyenga, Jacque, Erpenbach and Carpenter.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Patrick Testin State Senator
- Barbara Dittrich State Representative
- Kim Vercauteren Wisconsin Catholic Conference
- Paul Shinek Self

Appearances Against

Brook Soltvedt - League of Women Voters of Wisconsin

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Chelsea Duffy Self
- Kristen Nupson Wisconsin Right to Life
- Heather Weininger Wisconsin Right to Life
- Melanie Nawrot Wisconsin Right to Life
- Frank Mau Wisconsin Right to Life
- Melissa Uselman Self
- Joanne Van Rossum Fox Valley Chapter WRTL
- Wendy Heyn Self
- Julaine Appling Wisconsin Family Action

• Tim Holz - Self

Registrations Against

- Nicole Poellinger Self
- Rabbi Bonni Marguis Self
- Doug Laube Self
- Cecely Castillo Wisconsin Alliance for Women & Health
- Kathy Hartke American College of Obstetricians & Gynecologists WI Section

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

May 09, 2019 **Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot**

Present: (5) Senator Testin; Senators Kooyenga, Jacque, Erpenbach and Carpenter.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by that Senate Bill 173 be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (3) Senator Testin; Senators Kooyenga and Jacque.

Noes: (2) Senators Erpenbach and Carpenter.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Matt Wimmer Committee Clerk