# Senate

# **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

# Committee on Elections, Election Process Reform and Ethics

The committee will hold an executive session on the following items at the time specified below:

Wednesday, February 9, 2022 1:30 PM 319 South

Pursuant to Senate Rule 24 (4) (am), the Committee on Elections, Election Process Reform and Ethics will vote by paper ballot on the following items:

### Wambach, Honorable David J.

Of Drummond, as a Legislative Joint Appointment on the Wisconsin Ethics Commission, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2026.

#### Senate Bill 718

Relating to: campaign finance changes recommended by the Ethics Commission. By Senator Bernier; cosponsored by Representatives Wichgers, Cabral-Guevara, Murphy and Spiros.

## Senate Bill 719

Relating to: changes to the lobbying laws, including changes recommended by the Ethics Commission.

By Senator Bernier; cosponsored by Representatives Wichgers, Cabral-Guevara, Murphy and Spiros.

# Senate Bill 720

Relating to: changes to the administration of the code of ethics, as recommended by the Ethics Commission.

By Senator Bernier; cosponsored by Representatives Wichgers, Cabral-Guevara, Murphy and Spiros.

## Senate Bill 934

Relating to: maintenance of the voter registration list, training of municipal clerks, data sharing agreements, pre-election procedures, lines at the polls on election day, and granting rule-making authority.

By Senators Bernier, Cowles, Darling, Stroebel, Felzkowski, Marklein and Wanggaard; cosponsored by Representatives Dittrich, Allen, Armstrong, Edming,

Gundrum, Knodl, Krug, Kuglitsch, Macco, Magnafici, Murphy, Mursau, Penterman, Schraa and Spiros.

#### Senate Bill 936

Relating to: the resolution of complaints filed with the Elections Commission, submitting to the legislature copies of complaints filed with the Elections Commission, reports concerning possible violations of election laws, postelection audits of electronic voting systems, printing absentee ballot applications for recounts, and granting rule-making authority.

By Senators Bernier, Cowles, Darling, Stroebel, Felzkowski, Marklein and Wanggaard; cosponsored by Representatives Macco, Armstrong, Edming, Gundrum, Knodl, Krug, Kuglitsch, Magnafici, Moses, Murphy, Mursau, Penterman, Schraa and Spiros.

## Senate Bill 938

Relating to: verifying citizenship of individuals on the official voter registration list and contents of operator's licenses and identification cards.

By Senators Darling, Roth, Wimberger, Felzkowski, Nass and Stroebel; cosponsored by Representatives Knodl, Armstrong, Behnke, Brandtjen, Brooks, Cabral-Guevara, Dittrich, Gundrum, Horlacher, Krug, Kuglitsch, Magnafici, Penterman, Petersen, Pronschinske, Rozar, Sanfelippo, Schraa, Tittl, Wichgers and Neylon.

#### Senate Bill 939

Relating to: absentee ballot applications, unsolicited mailing or transmission of absentee ballot applications and absentee ballots, secure delivery of absentee ballots, canvassing absentee ballots, voter registration requirements, electronic voter registration, and providing a penalty.

By Senators Stroebel, Darling, Felzkowski and Marklein; cosponsored by Representatives Gundrum, Rozar, Armstrong, Behnke, Brooks, Cabral-Guevara, Dittrich, Knodl, Krug, Magnafici, Penterman, Sanfelippo, Wichgers and Murphy.

### Senate Bill 941

Relating to: overseeing the administration of elections.

By Senators LeMahieu, Darling and Stroebel; cosponsored by Representatives Vos, Armstrong, Behnke, Cabral-Guevara, Dallman, Dittrich, Gundrum, Katsma, Knodl, Krug, Kuglitsch, Magnafici, Murphy, Mursau, Penterman, Plumer, Rozar, Sanfelippo, Steffen, Tusler and Wittke.

#### Senate Bill 942

Relating to: state agency compliance with election laws.

By Senators Stroebel and Darling; cosponsored by Representatives Petersen, Armstrong, Behnke, Brooks, Cabral-Guevara, Gundrum, Krug, Kuglitsch, Magnafici, Sanfelippo, Wichgers and Murphy.

#### Senate Bill 943

Relating to: requiring the Elections Commission to send guidance documents to the Joint Committee for Review of Administrative Rules.

By Senators Darling, Nass, Felzkowski and Stroebel; cosponsored by Representatives Spiros, Gundrum, Behnke, Steffen, Armstrong, Sanfelippo, Penterman, Cabral-Guevara, Tittl, Mursau, Rozar, Oldenburg, Knodl, Murphy, Wittke and Neylon.

# **Senate Joint Resolution 101**

Relating to: prohibiting the use of a donation or grant of private resources for purposes of election administration and specifying who may perform tasks related to election administration (first consideration).

By Senators Wimberger, Darling, Feyen, Roth and Testin; cosponsored by Representatives August, Vorpagel, Brooks, Armstrong, Behnke, Dallman, Dittrich, Gundrum, Knodl, Krug, Kuglitsch, Magnafici, Moses, Murphy, Penterman, Petersen, Plumer, Rozar, Sanfelippo, Spiros, Steffen, Tittl, Wichgers and Wittke.

Deadline for Responding: 3:30 PM on Wednesday, February 9, 2022, due in the Committee Chair's office, Room 319 South, State Capitol.

Senator Kathleen Bernier Chair