

STATE OF WISCONSIN

Assembly Journal

June 2021 Extraordinary Session

9:53 A.M.

TUESDAY, July 27, 2021

The Assembly met in the Assembly Chamber located in the State Capitol.

Speaker Pro Tempore August in the Chair.

Representative Steineke asked unanimous consent for a quorum call. Granted.

A quorum was present.

The prayer was offered by Representative Tittl.

Representative Penterman led the membership in reciting the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.

The roll was taken.

The result follows:

Present - Representatives Allen, Anderson, Andraca, Armstrong, August, Baldeh, Behnke, Billings, Born, Bowen, Brooks, Brostoff, Cabral-Guevara, Cabrera, Callahan, Conley, Considine, Dallman, Dittrich, Doyle, Drake, Duchow, Edming, Emerson, Goyke, Gundrum, Haywood, Hebl, Hesselbein, Hintz, Hong, Horlacher, James, Katsma, Kerkman, Kitchens, Knodl, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kurtz, Loudenbeck, Macco, Magnafici, McGuire, B. Meyers, Milroy, Moore Omokunde, Moses, Murphy, Mursau, L. Myers, Neubauer, Neylon, Novak, Ohnstad, Oldenburg, Ortiz-Velez, Penterman, Petersen, Petryk, Plumer, Pope, Pronschinske, Ramthun, Riemer, J. Rodriguez, Rozar, Sanfelippo, Schraa, Shankland, Shelton, Sinicki, Skowronski, Snodgrass, Snyder, Sortwell, Spreitzer, Steffen, Steineke, Stubbs, Subeck, Summerfield, Swearingen, Tauchen, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel, Tusler, VanderMeer, Vining, Vorpagel, Vruwink, Wichgers, Wittke, Zimmer man and Speaker Vos - 96.

Absent with leave - Representatives Brandtjen, S. Rodriguez and Spiros - 3.

Vacancies - None.

LEAVES OF ABSENCE

Representative Vorpagel asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for today's session for Representatives Brandtjen and Spiros. Granted.

Representative Spreitzer asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for today's session for Representative S. Rodriguez. Granted.

LEAVES OF ABSENCE

Representative Spreitzer asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for part of today's session for Representative Riemer. Granted.

MOTION TO AMEND THE JUNE 2021 EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

July 26, 2021

The following motion was approved by the Committee on Assembly Organization:

In accordance with Joint Rule 81 (2) and Assembly Rule 93, it is moved that the Committee on Assembly Organization amends June 2021 Extraordinary Session to include Assembly Bill 336, beginning at 9:01 a.m. on Tuesday, July 27, 2021.

Ayes: 5 – Representatives Vos, Steineke, Peterson, August and Vorpagel.

Noes: 3 – Representatives Hintz, Hesselbein and Spreitzer.

July 26, 2021

The following motion was approved by the Committee on Senate Organization:

In accordance with Joint Rule 81 (2) and Senate Rule 93, it is moved that the Committee on Senate Organization amends June 2021 Extraordinary Session to include Assembly Bill 336, beginning at 9:01 a.m. on Tuesday, July 27, 2021.

Ayes: 3 – Senators LeMahieu, Kapenga and Feyen.

Noes: 2 – Senators Bewley and Ringhand.

CALENDAR OF TUESDAY, JULY 27

Assembly Bill 336

Relating to: participation in federal unemployment benefit programs and work search requirements for unemployment insurance.

Representative Vorpagel in the chair.

Representative Milroy asked unanimous consent that his leave of absence be lifted. Granted.

Speaker Pro Tempore August in the chair.

The question was: Shall **Assembly Bill 336** pass notwithstanding the objections of the Governor?

The roll was taken.

The result follows:

Ayes - Representatives Allen, Armstrong, August, Behnke, Born, Brooks, Cabral-Guevara, Callahan, Dallman, Dittrich, Duchow, Edming, Gundrum, Horlacher, James, Katsma, Kerkman, Kitchens, Knodl, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kurtz, Loudenbeck, Macco, Magnafici, Moses, Murphy, Mursau, Neylon, Novak, Oldenburg, Penterman, Petersen, Petryk, Plumer, Pronschinske, Ramthun, J. Rodriguez, Rozar, Sanfelippo, Schraa, Skowronski, Snyder, Sortwell, Steffen, Steineke, Summerfield, Swearingen, Tauchen, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel, Tusler, VanderMeer, Vorpagel, Wichgers, Wittke, Zimmerman and Speaker Vos - 59.

Noes - Representatives Anderson, Andraca, Baldeh, Billings, Bowen, Brostoff, Cabrera, Conley, Considine, Doyle, Drake, Emerson, Goyke, Haywood, Hebl, Hesselbein, Hintz, Hong, McGuire, B. Meyers, Milroy, Moore Omokunde, L. Myers, Neubauer, Ohnstad, Ortiz-Velez, Pope, Riemer, Shankland, Shelton, Sinicki, Snodgrass, Spreitzer, Stubbs, Subeck, Vining and Vruwink - 37.

Absent or not voting - Representatives Brandtjen, S. Rodriguez and Spiros - 3.

Motion failed.

VISITORS

During today's session, the following visitors honored the Assembly by their presence and were welcomed by the presiding officer and the members:

Emily Neis, a student at the University of Wisconsin Madison, intern and guest of Representative Hebl.

Maverik Milroy, son and guest of Representative Milroy.

Hudsen Helenius of South Range, nephew and guest of Representative Milroy.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Representative Hesselbein asked unanimous consent that the Assembly adjourn in honor of former Wisconsin State Representative Spencer Black. Granted. Representative Hesselbein asked unanimous consent that the Assembly adjourn in honor of former Wisconsin State Representative Dave Travis. Granted.

Representative Hesselbein asked unanimous consent that the Assembly adjourn in honor of her staff members, Denise Stromme, Margie Berkowitz, Alex Joers, and Lori Whitmore. Granted.

Representative Hebl asked unanimous consent that the Assembly adjourn in honor of Taylor Brown, who was recently named Sun Prairie's new city Economic Development Director. Granted.

Representative Hebl asked unanimous consent that the Assembly adjourn in honor of Sun Prairie High School Girls Varsity Softball team for taking second place in the WIAA State Softball Championship. Team members are Kennedy Schaefer, Ella Ordens, Sophia Royle, Stella Ewoldt, Grace Radlund, Carly Gross, Mckenna Gross, Chloe Knoernschild, Ella Westphal, Isabel Royle, Ellie Rademacher, Tayler Baker, Sidney McLean, Vanessa Veith, Ashley Rahn, Kiana Patterson and Kenzie Longley, Head Coach Jamie Olson, Assistant Coach Ellyn Presto, Assistant Coach and Statistician Lindi Winter and Volunteer Coach Dan Morovits. Granted.

Representative Hebl asked unanimous consent that the Assembly adjourn in honor of Sun Prairie High School Girls Varsity Softball coach Jamie Olson, who was named WFSCA's Coach of the Year. Granted.

Representative Hebl asked unanimous consent that the Assembly adjourn in honor of Tomas and Jeanne Thomas, on the occasion of their 57th wedding anniversary on August 8. Granted.

Representative Hebl asked unanimous consent that the Assembly adjourn in honor of Holly Hebl and Peter Levonian, on the occasion of their recent engagement. Granted.

ADJOURNMENT

Representative Steineke moved that the Assembly stand adjourned pursuant to **Senate Joint Resolution 1**.

The question was: Shall the Assembly stand adjourned? Motion carried.

The Assembly stood adjourned.

12:01 P.M.