# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Colleges and Universities**

#### Assembly Bill 515

Relating to: tuition and fee remission or grants for certain veterans and their dependents enrolled in the University of Wisconsin System, a technical college, or a private nonprofit institution of higher education; and the University of Wisconsin System nonresident tuition exemption for certain veterans.

By Representatives Kitchens, Kurtz, Steffen, Cabral-Guevara, Duchow, Edming, Novak, Ohnstad, Rozar, Skowronski, Tusler, VanderMeer, Wichgers and Mursau; cosponsored by Senators Wimberger, Carpenter, Marklein and Petrowski.

August 31, 2021 Referred to Committee on Colleges and Universities

October 07, 2021 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (12) Representative Murphy; Representatives
Dallman, Tranel, Wittke, Summerfield, Krug,
Petryk, Moses, Hesselbein, Shankland,

Anderson and Emerson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (3) Representatives Duchow, Cabral-Guevara and

Stubbs.

### Appearances For

- State Senator Eric Wimberger 30th Senate District
- State Representative Joel Kitchens 1st Assembly District
- Al Labelle Disabled American Veterans
- Joe Rasmussen UW-Madison
- Rick Sense Greater Green Bay Chamber
- Paul Fisk American Legion

#### Appearances Against

None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

None.

#### Registrations For

- Dr. Rolf Wegenke WAICU
- Nathan Bond County Veterans Service Officers Association of Wisconsin

### Registrations Against

None.

## Registrations for Information Only

• Jeff Buhrandt - UW System

## December 08, 2021 Executive Session Held

Present: (14) Representative Murphy; Representatives

Dallman, Tranel, Duchow, Wittke,

Summerfield, Krug, Petryk, Cabral-Guevara, Moses, Shankland, Anderson, Emerson and

Stubbs.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Hesselbein.

Moved by Representative Tranel, seconded by Representative Shankland that **Assembly Bill 515** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (14) Representative Murphy; Representatives

Dallman, Tranel, Duchow, Wittke, Summerfield, Krug, Petryk, Cabral-Guevara, Moses, Shankland, Anderson,

Emerson and Stubbs.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

\_\_\_\_\_

Michael Moscicke Committee Clerk