Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Colleges and Universities

Assembly Bill 639

Relating to: the University of Wisconsin Missing-in-Action Recovery and Identification Project and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Skowronski, Sinicki, Spiros, Tusler, Hesselbein, Emerson, Petryk, Cabral-Guevara, Kerkman, Spreitzer, Bowen, Dittrich, Mursau, Wichgers, Shankland, Vruwink, Neubauer, Conley, Subeck, Horlacher, Ortiz-Velez, Riemer, Kurtz, Armstrong, B. Meyers, Snodgrass, Allen, Hebl, Andraca, Hong, Ohnstad, Thiesfeldt, Drake, Shelton, James, Considine, S. Rodriguez, Vining, Stubbs, Haywood, Anderson, Baldeh, Penterman, Macco, Edming, Tittl, Milroy, Summerfield, Billings, Brostoff, Cabrera, Doyle, Goyke, Hintz, McGuire, Moore Omokunde, L. Myers, Pope, Schraa, Wittke and Plumer; cosponsored by Senators Roth, Carpenter, Kooyenga, Bewley, Agard, Feyen, L. Taylor, Smith, Ringhand, Wirch, Larson, Pfaff, Johnson and Felzkowski.

October 21, 2021 Referred to Committee on Colleges and Universities

January 26, 2022 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (14) Representative Murphy; Representatives
Dallman, Tranel, Duchow, Wittke,
Summerfield, Krug, Petryk, Cabral-Guevara,
Moses, Hesselbein, Shankland, Anderson and
Stubbs.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Emerson.

Appearances For

- State Representative Christine Sinicki 20th Assembly District
- State Representative Ken Skowronski 82nd Assembly District
- Ryan Wubben UW-Madison MIA
- Chuck Konsitzke UW-Madison MIA
- Greg Eirch Department of Wisconsin American Legion
- Paul Fisk American Legion
- Al Labelle DAV

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Deej Lundgren UW System
- Crystal Potts UW-Madison
- Jack O'Meara PROFS, UW-Madison Faculty

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 08, 2022 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (13) Representative Murphy; Representatives
Dallman, Tranel, Wittke, Summerfield, Krug,
Petryk, Cabral-Guevara, Moses, Hesselbein,
Anderson, Emerson and Stubbs.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Duchow and Shankland.

Moved by Representative Hesselbein, seconded by Representative Emerson that **Assembly Bill 639** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (13) Representative Murphy; Representatives
Dallman, Tranel, Wittke, Summerfield,
Krug, Petryk, Cabral-Guevara, Moses,
Hesselbein, Anderson, Emerson and Stubbs.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Michael Moscicke

Committee Clerk