Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Constitution and Ethics

Assembly Bill 141

Relating to: prohibiting discrimination based on traits historically associated with race, including hair texture and protective hairstyles.

By Representatives L. Myers, Stubbs, Drake, Shankland, S. Rodriguez, Anderson, Hebl, Neubauer, Ortiz-Velez, Hong, Emerson, Snodgrass, Cabrera, Baldeh, Conley, Hesselbein, Spreitzer, Vining, Hintz, Subeck, Shelton, Billings, Brostoff, Bowen and Considine; cosponsored by Senators L. Taylor, Johnson, Roys, Agard, Larson, Wirch and Carpenter.

March 05, 2021 Referred to Committee on Constitution and Ethics

April 20, 2021 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (7) Representative Wichgers; Representatives Ramthun, Magnafici, Murphy, Hebl, Pope and Cabrera.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Thiesfeldt and Allen.

Appearances For

- Rep. Lakeisha Myers 12th Assembly District
- Sen. Lena Taylor 4th Senate District
- Rep. Dora Drake 11th Assembly District
- Melanie Bartholf UFCW 1473
- Ananda Deacon ACLU of WI
- Destiny Bennett ACLU Student Alliance of UW-Madison
- Michelle Bryant

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Wendell Harris NAACP State Conference
- Sheila Long Malama Doe
- Angela Onwaachi-Willig Boston University Law School
- Chris Stanley Keefe Avenue School

- Ruben Anthony Urban League of Madison
- Janette Braverman Ozaukee County
- Congresswoman Gwen Moore United State House of Representatives, 4th Congressional District
- Monique Liston UBUNTU Research and Evaluation
- Alderperson Milele Coggs City of Milwaukee, District
- Rep. Sheila Stubbs 77th Assembly District
- Corry Joe Biddle MMAC
- Supervisor Marcelia Nicholson Milwaukee County, District 5
- Afiya Mbilishaka University of the District of Columbia
- Megan Simmons Ujima, Inc
- Sabrina Bernadel National Women's Law Center
- Stefani Millie Unilever

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• Malika Evanco - WI Department of Administration

March 10, 2022 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1

William Neville
Committee Clerk