## Assembly

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety**

#### **Assembly Bill 190**

Relating to: the responsibilities of the Law Enforcement Standards Board and disclosure of employment files when recruiting former or current officers.

By Representatives Tusler, Cabral-Guevara, Subeck, Sortwell, Bowen, Moses, Rozar, Loudenbeck, Snyder, Plumer, Mursau, Gundrum and Thiesfeldt; cosponsored by Senators Testin, L. Taylor, Ballweg, Bernier, Cowles, Darling, Feyen, Jacque, Marklein, Nass and Wanggaard.

March 23, 2021	Referred to	Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety			
April 07, 2021	Public Hearing Held				
	Present:	(14)	Representative Spiros; Representatives Horlacher, Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, James, Steffen, Callahan, McGuire, Bowen, Emerson, Stubbs and Drake.		
	Absent:	(0)	None.		
	Excused:	(1)	Representative Krug.		
	<ul> <li><u>Appearances For</u></li> <li>Representative Ron Tusler - 3rd Assembly District</li> <li>Senator Patrick Testin - 24th Senate District</li> <li>Andrew Wagner - Milwaukee Police Association</li> <li>Sheriff Todd Delain - Law Enforcement Standards Board</li> </ul>				
	• B	ernie C	Coughlin - WI Chiefs of Police		
	<u>Appearances Against</u> • None.				
	Appearances for Information Only				

• None.

Registrations For

- Attorney General Josh Kaul DOJ
- James Fenley Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association
- Brenda Wood City of Milwaukee

### Registrations Against

• None.

#### Registrations for Information Only

• None.

#### May 19, 2021 Executive Session Held

Present:	(13)	Representative Spiros; Representatives
		Horlacher, Sortwell, Novak, Schraa, Krug,
		James, Callahan, McGuire, Bowen, Emerson,
		Stubbs and Drake.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(2)	Representatives Duchow and Steffen.

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Novak that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (13) Representative Spiros; Representatives Horlacher, Sortwell, Novak, Schraa, Krug, James, Callahan, McGuire, Bowen, Emerson, Stubbs and Drake.

Noes: (0) None.

# ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Stubbs that **Assembly Bill 190** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (13) Representative Spiros; Representatives Horlacher, Sortwell, Novak, Schraa, Krug, James, Callahan, McGuire, Bowen, Emerson, Stubbs and Drake.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Ericka Braatz Committee Clerk