## **Assembly**

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

### **Assembly Bill 297**

Relating to: traffic violations when emergency or roadside response vehicles are present and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Loudenbeck, Novak, Plumer, Shankland, Ramthun, Spiros, Armstrong, Brandtjen, Cabral-Guevara, Cabrera, Callahan, Conley, Considine, Dallman, Dittrich, Duchow, James, Kerkman, Kitchens, Krug, Murphy, Mursau, Shelton, Sinicki, Skowronski, Snodgrass, Spreitzer, Subeck, Stubbs, VanderMeer, Vruwink, Wittke and Zimmerman; cosponsored by Senators Ballweg, Testin, Carpenter, Larson, Marklein and Ringhand.

May 03, 2021 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

June 03, 2021 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (15) Representative Spiros; Representatives
Horlacher, Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa,
Krug, James, Steffen, Callahan, McGuire,
Bowen, Emerson, Stubbs and Drake.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

## Appearances For

- Rep. Amy Loudenbeck 31st Assembly District
- Rep. Katrina Shankland 71st Assembly District
- Sen. Joan Ballweg 14th Senate District
- Victor Voss
- Mike Bourdeau WI State Firefighters Association
- Nick Jarmusz AAA
- Dan Johnson WI Towing Association

#### Appearances Against

• None.

## Appearances for Information Only

None.

### Registrations For

- Tom Fonfara WI State Firefighters Association
- Catherine McDermott Badger State Sheriffs & Wisconsin Sheriffs & Deputy Sheriffs Association
- Brian Swan Amherst Fire Department

- Forbes McIntosh WI EMS Association
- Joe Strohl Professional Fire Fighters of Wisconsin
- Thomas Bray
- Shane Krueger Clintonville Fire Department
- Jeff Peters Amherst Fire District
- Jb Moody

### Registrations Against

• None.

## Registrations for Information Only

• None.

## June 10, 2021 Executive Session Held

Present: (15) Representative Spiros; Representatives
Horlacher, Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa,
Krug, James, Steffen, Callahan, McGuire,
Bowen, Emerson, Stubbs and Drake.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative James, seconded by Representative Bowen that **Assembly Bill 297** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (15) Representative Spiros; Representatives
Horlacher, Sortwell, Duchow, Novak,
Schraa, Krug, James, Steffen, Callahan,
McGuire, Bowen, Emerson, Stubbs and
Drake.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Ericka Braatz

Committee Clerk