Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Assembly Bill 970

Relating to: eliminating income limits for parental choice programs; eliminating pupil participation limits for the statewide parental choice program; private school tuition charged to a pupil participating in a parental choice program; and creating an education expense reimbursement program for the 2022-23 school year and the summer of 2023.

By Representatives Wittke, Thiesfeldt, Dittrich, Murphy, Penterman, Moses, Rozar, Brandtjen, Macco, Knodl and Magnafici; cosponsored by Senators Roth, Darling, Nass, Wanggaard, Stroebel and Jagler.

February 08, 2022 Referred to Committee on Education

February 16, 2022 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (14) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives

Kitchens, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau,

Duchow, Rozar, Behnke, Pope, Hebl, Considine, Vruwink and L. Myers.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Penterman.

Appearances For

- Rep. Wittke
- Senator Roth
- Jim Bender School Choice WI Action
- Scott Frostman
- Julaine Appling WI Family Action
- Rachel VerVelde WMC
- Chris Reader IRG Action Fund
- Libby Sobic WILL

Appearances Against

- Timothy Raymond Cambria-Friesland School Districts
- Patrick Hintz SM School Board

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Senator Darling
- Micah Pearce

- Sharon Schmeling WI Council of Independent & Religious Schools
- Barbara Sella WI Catholic Conference

Registrations Against

- Dee Pettack DPI
- Dan Rossmiller WI Association of School Boards
- John Forester School Administrators Alliance
- Heather DuBois Bourenanz
- Bryn Horton Sun Prairie School Board
- Todd Price
- Ann Zielke
- Heather Birk
- Amy Steuer
- Jenni Hofschulte
- Jenni Hofschulte
- Jack O'Meara WEAC
- Rep. Myers

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 17, 2022 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (13) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives
Kitchens, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau,
Rozar, Behnke, Pope, Hebl, Considine,
Vruwink and L. Myers.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Duchow and Penterman.

Moved by Representative Wichgers, seconded by Representative Rozar that **Assembly Bill 970** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (7) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau, Rozar and Behnke.

Noes: (6) Representatives Kitchens, Pope, Hebl, Considine, Vruwink and L. Myers.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 6

Katie Scott
Committee Clerk