## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Transportation**

#### **Assembly Bill 248**

Relating to: pedestrians crossing railroads.

By Representatives Magnafici, Brandtjen, Billings, Callahan, Doyle, Edming, Horlacher, B. Meyers, Mursau, Novak, Oldenburg, Pronschinske, Rozar, Skowronski, Tittl, VanderMeer and Vruwink; cosponsored by Senator Bernier.

April 08, 2021 Referred to Committee on Transportation

April 27, 2021 Public Hearing Held

Present: (14) Representative Plumer; Representatives Spiros, Vorpagel, Thiesfeldt, Skowronski, Ramthun, Brooks, Callahan, Rozar, Considine, Moore Omokunde, Ortiz-Velez, Shelton and

Snodgrass.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Sanfelippo.

## Appearances For

- Rep. Gae Magnafici
- Arnold Groehler Wisconsin Trappers Association
- Tony Blatter Wisconsin Conservation Congress
- Mike Kuhr Wisconsin Trout Unlimited
- Dan Trawicki Safari Club
- George Meyer Wisconsin Wildlife Federation
- Marc Schultz La Crosse County Conservation Alliance

#### Appearances Against

- Chuck Schulz Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineer & Trainmen
- William (Andy) Hauck SMART TD
- Rick Hauser SMART TD
- Peter Kammer Wisconsin Railroads Association

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

#### Registrations For

- Rep. Loren Oldenburg
- Rep. Treig Pronschinske

- Sherry Quamme Mississippi River Parkway Commission
- Wes Domine Buffalo County Conservation Alliance
- Bob Welch Wisconsin Bear Hunters Association
- Mark LaBarbers

## Registrations Against

- Gary Goyke All Aboard Wisconsin
- Erik Varela Union Pacific
- Joe Strohl BNSF Railway
- Lydia Bjorge BNSF Railway
- Ken Lucht WATCO Railroad
- Arielle Giordano Canadian Pacific Railroad

## Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 10, 2022 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1

Mary Curry
Committee Clerk