Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Elections, Election Process Reform and Ethics

Senate Bill 939

Relating to: absentee ballot applications, unsolicited mailing or transmission of absentee ballot applications and absentee ballots, secure delivery of absentee ballots, canvassing absentee ballots, voter registration requirements, electronic voter registration, and providing a penalty.

By Senators Stroebel, Darling, Felzkowski and Marklein; cosponsored by Representatives Gundrum, Rozar, Armstrong, Behnke, Brooks, Cabral-Guevara, Dittrich, Knodl, Krug, Magnafici, Penterman, Sanfelippo, Wichgers and Murphy.

February 03, 2022 Referred to Committee on Elections, Election Process Reform and Ethics

February 07, 2022 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (5) Senator Bernier; Senators Darling, Stroebel, Smith and Roys.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

Senator Duey Stroebel - 20th Senate District

Appearances Against

- Matt Rothschild Wisconsin Democracy Campaign
- Carla Loeffler We the People
- Debra Cronmiller Leauge of Women Voters of Wisconsin
- Barbara Beckert Disability Rights Wisconsin
- Tami Jackson
- Tami Jackson Wisconsin Board for People with Developmental Disabilities
- Brenda Wood City of Milwaukee
- Brian Peters Independence First
- Stephanie Birmingham
- Michael Haas City of Madison
- Janet Zander Greater Wisconsin Agency on Aging Resources
- Jim Turk

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Stewart Whitson Opportunity Solutions Project
- Representative Rick Gundrum 58th Assembly District

Registrations Against

• Senator Tim Carpenter - 3rd Senate District

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 09, 2022 **Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot**

Present: (5) Senator Bernier; Senators Darling, Stroebel, Smith and Roys.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by that Senate Bill 939 be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (3) Senator Bernier; Senators Darling and Stroebel.

Noes: (2) Senators Smith and Roys.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Michael Luckey

Committee Clerk