PUBLIC HEARING

Joint Committee for Review of Administrative Rules

The committee will hold a public hearing on the following items at the time specified below:

Thursday, January 11, 2024 1:00 PM 201 Southeast State Capitol

EmR 2312

Relating to: anatomical gifts (DHS).

EmR 2313

Relating to: genetic counselors (Genetic Counselors Affiliated Credentialing Board).

Department of Financial Institutions – Review of proposed adjustments under s. 202.12 (8) (b), Stats.

The Department of Financial Institutions has proposed adjustments to the threshold amounts as follows:

- 1. Section 202.12 (1) (b) 2r. and (3) (b), Stats., require a non-exempt charitable organization that receives more than \$500,000 in contributions in its most recently completed fiscal year to file an audited financial statement with the Department. The Department proposes to increase this threshold from \$500,000 to \$650,000 to account for inflation.
- 2. Section 202.12 (3) (d), Stats., allows a charitable organization to apply for a waiver of the requirement to file an audited or reviewed financial statement with the Department if the organization received less than \$100,000 in contributions in each of the past three fiscal years, among other eligibility requirements. The Department proposes to increase this threshold from \$100,000 to \$125,000 to account for inflation.

Pursuant to s. 202.12 (8), Stats., the Department of Financial Institutions may adjust for inflation certain threshold amounts relating to registration and reporting requirements of charitable organizations. Before the department makes any adjustment, it shall send a notification of the proposed adjustment to the co-chairpersons of the joint committee for

review of administrative rules. If, within 14 working days after the date of the department's notification, the co-chairpersons of the committee notify the secretary of financial institutions that the committee has scheduled a meeting for the purpose of reviewing the proposed adjustment, the adjustment may be made only upon approval of the committee.

Senator Steve Nass Senate Chair Representative Adam Neylon Assembly Chair