

Senate

PUBLIC HEARING

Committee on Universities and Revenue

The committee will hold a public hearing on the following items at the time specified below:

Wednesday, January 17, 2024 9:30 AM 411 South

Johnson, Senator LaTonya

Of Milwaukee, as a Public Member on the College Savings Program Board, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2025.

Palmer, Kristi

Of Kronenwetter, as a Local Government Representative on the State of Wisconsin Investment Board, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2029.

Schlichting, Dr. David

Of Greenfield, as a Certified Public Accountant Representative on the Accounting Examining Board, to serve for the term ending July 1, 2026.

Bauer, Susan

Of Milwaukee, as a Public Member on the College Savings Program Board, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2027.

Oemichen, William

Of New Glarus, as a Public Member on the College Savings Program Board, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2027.

Fleming, Kate M.

Of Mequon, as a Public Member on the Deferred Compensation Board, to serve for the term ending July 1, 2026.

Senate Bill 281

Relating to: exempting from taxation the pension benefits of certain federal employees.

By Senators Wanggaard, Wirch, Hesselbein, Nass, Spreitzer, Taylor and Ballweg; cosponsored by Representatives Armstrong, Ohnstad, Brooks, Cabrera, Dittrich, Doyle, Green, Joers, Kitchens, Mursau, O'Connor, Ortiz-Velez, Palmeri, Shankland, Sinicki, Snodgrass, Spiros, Stubbs, Subeck and VanderMeer.

Senate Bill 845

Relating to: standard industrial classification codes for linen supply and industrial launderers and modifying the manufacturing and agriculture tax credit.

By Senators Hutton, Testin and Nass; cosponsored by Representatives Krug, Duchow, Jacobson, Macco, Maxey, Murphy, Penterman, Steffen, Summerfield and Melotik.

Senate Bill 616

Relating to: a sales tax exemption for road-building equipment; increasing the income tax withholding threshold for nonresidents; modifying the certification requirement for a qualified opportunity fund; prohibiting certain lottery games; and extending the capital gains exclusion to family members who inherit certain farms organized as a partnership or limited liability company.

By Senators Marklein, Ballweg, Pfaff and Tomczyk; cosponsored by Representatives Katsma, Born, Dallman, Edming, Kurtz, Mursau, Nedweski, Novak, O'Connor, Penterman, Plumer, Schutt, Steffen, Wichgers and Jacobson.

Senate Bill 869

Relating to: an income tax subtraction for overtime wages and certain bonuses. By Senators Testin, Bradley, Cabral-Guevara, Hutton and Quinn; cosponsored by Representatives Gustafson, Green, Allen, Donovan, Edming, Rettinger, Rozar, Schmidt

Senate Bill 308

and Behnke.

Relating to: a sales and use tax exemption for data center equipment or software. By Senators Quinn, Wanggaard, Bradley, Cowles, Feyen and Nass; cosponsored by Representatives Zimmerman, Wittke, Allen, Armstrong, Binsfeld, Green, Murphy, Nedweski, O'Connor, Petryk, Pronschinske and Rettinger.

Assembly Bill 302

Relating to: a sales and use tax exemption for data center equipment or software. By Representatives Zimmerman, Wittke, Allen, Armstrong, Binsfeld, Green, Krug, Murphy, Nedweski, O'Connor, Petryk, Pronschinske and Rettinger; cosponsored by Senators Quinn, Bradley, Cowles, Feyen, Nass and Wanggaard.

Senate Bill 227

Relating to: changing the name of the earned income tax credit.

By Senators Cabral-Guevara and Quinn; cosponsored by Representatives Steffen, Allen, Armstrong, Behnke, Gundrum, Kitchens, O'Connor and Rozar.

Senate Bill 374

Relating to: Wisconsin and Minnesota income tax reciprocity. By Senators Stafsholt, Ballweg, Bradley and Quinn; cosponsored by Representatives Zimmerman, Petryk, Green, Magnafici, O'Connor and Wittke.

Senate Bill 367

Relating to: guaranteed admission to University of Wisconsin System institutions and technical colleges and requiring high schools to prepare class rankings for certain pupils.

By Senator Cabral-Guevara; cosponsored by Representatives O'Connor, Murphy, Vos, Armstrong, Behnke, Bodden, Brandtjen, Goeben, Green, Gundrum, Gustafson, Kitchens, Macco, Maxey, Nedweski, Rozar and Wichgers.

Assembly Bill 370

Relating to: guaranteed admission to University of Wisconsin System institutions and technical colleges and requiring high schools to prepare class rankings for certain pupils.

By Representatives O'Connor, Murphy, Vos, Maxey, Nedweski, Kitchens, Armstrong, Gustafson, Macco, Bodden, Behnke, Gundrum, Rozar, Wichgers, Brandtjen, Goeben and Green; cosponsored by Senator Cabral-Guevara.

Senator Rob	Hutton
	Chair