

## Senate

# **PUBLIC HEARING**

## **Committee on Universities and Revenue**

The committee will hold a public hearing on the following items at the time specified below:

Wednesday, March 6, 2024 10:00 AM 411 South

#### Craney, Terrance

Of Madison, as a Public Member on the Deferred Compensation Board, to serve for the term ending July 1, 2027.

#### Shaul, Kimberly

Of Madison, as a Public Member on the College Savings Program Board, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2025.

#### **Assembly Bill 1089**

Relating to: interest rates on late, nondelinquent taxes and on overpayments. By Representative Wittke; cosponsored by Senator Marklein.

#### Assembly Bill 102

Relating to: reducing the eligibility threshold to claim the veterans and surviving spouses property tax credit.

By Representatives Edming, Macco, Allen, Andraca, Armstrong, Baldeh, Brandtjen, Conley, Dittrich, Goeben, Green, Michalski, Mursau, Ohnstad, Ortiz-Velez, Penterman, Petryk, Plumer, Rozar, Shankland, Sinicki, Summerfield, Tusler and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Jacque, Testin, James, Quinn, Spreitzer, Taylor and Wirch.

#### Senate Bill 12

Relating to: tuition and fee remission or grants for certain veterans and their dependents enrolled in the University of Wisconsin System, a technical college, or a private nonprofit institution of higher education; and the University of Wisconsin System nonresident tuition exemption for certain veterans.

By Senators Wimberger, Ballweg, Cowles and Taylor; cosponsored by Representatives Kitchens, Kurtz, Steffen, Armstrong, Duchow, Edming, Green, Macco, Murphy, Mursau, Myers, Novak, Ortiz-Velez, Rozar and Spiros.

#### Senate Bill 855

Relating to: local grant writing and compliance assistance and making an appropriation.

By Senators Felzkowski, Ballweg, Pfaff, Spreitzer, Taylor and Tomczyk; cosponsored by Representatives Kurtz, Swearingen, Armstrong, Baldeh, Bare, Behnke, Edming, Goeben, Goyke, Green, Gundrum, Hurd, Jacobson, S. Johnson, Kitchens, Michalski, Mursau, Novak, O'Connor, Oldenburg, Penterman, Rettinger, Schmidt, Shankland and Tranel.

#### Assembly Bill 933

Relating to: transferring the angel investment tax credit.

By Representatives Wittke, Zimmerman, Armstrong, Goeben, Nedweski, O'Connor and Shankland; cosponsored by Senators Feyen and Wanggaard.

#### Assembly Bill 891

Relating to: academic and career planning services provided to pupils, requiring the reporting of certain data on college student costs and outcomes, and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives Michalski, Binsfeld, Behnke, Murphy, Mursau, O'Connor and S. Johnson; cosponsored by Senator Feyen.

#### Assembly Bill 610

Relating to: waivers from immunization requirements at institutions of higher education.

By Representatives Sortwell, Goeben, Rozar, Allen, Behnke, Bodden, Brandtjen, Callahan, Dittrich, Edming, Magnafici, Michalski, Murphy, O'Connor, Rettinger, Sapik, Schraa and Schutt; cosponsored by Senators Nass and Cabral-Guevara.

#### **Assembly Bill 1065**

Relating to: prohibiting University of Wisconsin System institutions and technical colleges from using loyalty pledges and requiring them to make certain information publicly available.

By Representatives Moses, Murphy, Nedweski, Callahan, O'Connor, Brandtjen, Dittrich, Green and Maxey; cosponsored by Senator Nass.

#### Adler, Kenneth P.

Of Madison, as a Commissioner on the Tax Appeals Commission, to serve for the term ending March 1, 2023.

#### Adler, Kenneth

Of Madison, as a Governor's Appointee on the Tax Appeals Commission, to serve for the term ending March 1, 2029.

#### Deangelis, Jefferson

Of Milwaukee, as an Investment Experience Representative on the State of Wisconsin Investment Board, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2029.

## Friedman, Michael

Of Milwaukee, as a Certified Public Accountant Representative on the Accounting Examining Board, to serve for the term ending July 1, 2027.

### Phillips, Joan

Of Germantown, as a Certified Public Accountant Representative on the Accounting Examining Board, to serve for the term ending July 1, 2027.

Senator Rob Hutton Chair