STATE OF WISCONSIN

Senate Journal

One-Hundred and Sixth Regular Session

MONDAY, March 20, 2023

The Chief Clerk made the following entries under the above date.

INTRODUCTION, FIRST READING, AND REFERENCE OF PROPOSALS

Read and referred:

Senate Joint Resolution 21

Relating to: calling on the governor to call a special election to fill a vacancy in the Office of Secretary of State.

By Senators LeMahieu and Kapenga; cosponsored by Representatives August and Vos.

To the committee on **Senate Organization**.

REPORT OF COMMITTEES

The committee on **Health** reported and recommended:

KLEPPIN, SUSAN, of Madison, as a Pharmacist Representative on the Pharmacy Examining Board, to serve for the term ending July 1, 2025.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 6 - Senators Cabral-Guevara, Testin, Felzkowski, Jacque, Hesselbein and Carpenter.

Noes: 0 - None.

NICHOLS, KRISTINE, of Whitewater, as a Public Member on the Naturopathic Medicine Examining Board, to serve for the term ending July 1, 2024.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 6 - Senators Cabral-Guevara, Testin, Felzkows ki, Jacque, Hesselbein and Carpenter.

Noes: 0 - None.

PARISH, DR. MICHAEL, of Wauwatosa, as a Doctor of Medicine on the Medical Examining Board, to serve for the term ending July 1, 2023.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 6 - Senators Cabral-Guevara, Testin, Felzkows ki, Jacque, Hesselbein and Carpenter.

Noes: 0 - None.

RATTÉ, PAUL, of Viroqua, as a Naturopathic Doctor Representative on the Naturopathic Medicine Examining Board, to serve for the term ending July 1, 2023.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 6 - Senators Cabral-Guevara, Testin, Felzkowski, Jacque, Hesselbein and Carpenter.

Noes: 0 - None.

SCHMELING, DR. GREGORY, of Brookfield, as a Doctor of Medicine Representative on the Medical Examining Board, to serve for the term ending July 1, 2025.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 6 - Senators Cabral-Guevara, Testin, Felzkows ki, Jacque, Hesselbein and Carpenter.

Noes: 0 - None.

WETTEKAMP, JOHN, of West Allis, as a Pharmacist Representative on the Pharmacy Examining Board, to serve for the term ending July 1, 2026.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 6 - Senators Cabral-Guevara, Testin, Felzkowski, Jacque, Hesselbein and Carpenter.

Noes: 0 - None.

WILSON, CHRISTA, of Sheboygan, as a Pharmacist Representative on the Pharmacy Examining Board, to serve for the term ending July 1, 2025.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 6 - Senators Cabral-Guevara, Testin, Felzkowski, Jacque, Hesselbein and Carpenter.

Noes: 0 - None.

Senate Bill 27

Relating to: spinal cord injury research grants and symposia and making an appropriation.

Senate Amendment 1 adoption.

Ayes: 6 - Senators Cabral-Guevara, Testin, Felzkowski, Jacque, Hesselbein and Carpenter.

Noes: 0 - None.

Passage as amended.

Ayes: 5 - Senators Cabral-Guevara, Testin, Felzkowski, Hesselbein and Carpenter.

Noes: 1 - Senator Jacque.

Senate Bill 7

Relating to: use of epinephrine delivery systems and standing orders for epinephrine.

Senate Amendment 1 adoption.

Ayes: 6 - Senators Cabral-Guevara, Testin, Felzkowski, Jacque, Hesselbein and Carpenter.

Noes: 0 - None.

Passage as amended.

Ayes: 6 - Senators Cabral-Guevara, Testin, Felzkowski, Jacque, Hesselbein and Carpenter.

Noes: 0 - None.

RACHAEL CABRAL-GUEVARA

Chairperson

The committee on Senate Organization reported:

Public hearing requirement waived, pursuant to Senate Rule 18 (1m):

Assembly Bill 28

Assembly Bill 54

Assembly Bill 56

Assembly Bill 67

Ayes: 5 - Senators LeMahieu, Kapenga, Feyen, Agard and Smith.

Noes: 0 - None.

Placed the following appointments and proposals on the Senate Calendar of Wednesday, March 22, 2023:

Blas "Ray" Berumen

Melissa Kay Blake

Donald Borst

Robert Broeckert

Jay Davide

Catherine Denison Kanter

Melissa Mae Destree

Nathan D. Houdek

Jill Hoyt

Secretary Missy Hughes

Rachael Julson

Shawn Timothy Kelly

Rebecca Kerkenbush

Izzv Marshall

Michael Moll

Jennifer Lynne Phillips

John Reinemann

Dr. Robert Sage

Anne Savers

Laura Schade Stroik

Robin A. Stroebel

Dr. Timothy Peter Szczykutowicz

Corissa D. Uselmann

Justen Willemon

Senate Joint Resolution 9

Senate Joint Resolution 17

Senate Joint Resolution 18

Senate Joint Resolution 21

Senate Bill 3

Senate Bill 4

Senate Bill 5

Senate Bill 7

Senate Bill 13

Senate Bill 21

Senate Bill 29

Senate Bill 36

Senate Bill 75

Senate Bill 76

Senate Bill 92

Senate Bill 101

Assembly Bill 28

Assembly Bill 54

Assembly Bill 56

Assembly Bill 67

Assembly Joint Resolution 4

Assembly Joint Resolution 5

Assembly Joint Resolution 11

Assembly Joint Resolution 12

Assembly Joint Resolution 13

Assembly Joint Resolution 14

Assembly Joint Resolution 16

Ayes: 5 - Senators LeMahieu, Kapenga, Feyen, Agard and Smith.

Noes: 0 - None.

DEVIN LEMAHIEU

Chairperson

The committee on **Universities and Revenue** reported and recommended:

BARCA, SECRETARY PETER, of Kenosha, as Secretary of the Department of Revenue, to serve for the term ending at the pleasure of the Governor.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 9 - Senators Hutton, James, Nass, Ballweg, Cabral-Guevara, Larson, Roys, Smith and Pfaff.

Noes: 0 - None.

Senate Bill 84

Relating to: the award of Wisconsin Merit scholarships to University of Wisconsin System students.

Passage.

Ayes: 9 - Senators Hutton, James, Nass, Ballweg, Cabral-Guevara, Larson, Roys, Smith and Pfaff.

Noes: 0 - None.

ROB HUTTON

Chairperson

PETITIONS AND COMMUNICATIONS

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Senator Wirch added as a cosponsor of **Assembly Bill 28**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representative Bare added as a cosponsor of **Senate Bill 8**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representative Bare added as a cosponsor of **Senate Bill 14**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Senator Wirch added as a coauthor of **Senate Bill 28**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representative Moore Omokunde added as a cosponsor of **Senate Bill 52**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representative Bare added as a cosponsor of **Senate Joint Resolution 15**.

REFERRALS AND RECEIPT OF COMMITTEE REPORTS CONCERNING PROPOSED ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

The committee on **Health** reported and recommended:

Senate Clearinghouse Rule 22-084

Relating to qualified residential treatment programs.

No action taken on March 20, 2023.

Referred to the joint committee for review of **Administrative Rules**, March 20, 2023.

RACHAEL CABRAL-GUEVARA Chairperson

The committee on **Universities and Revenue** reported and recommended:

Senate Clearinghouse Rule 22-044

Relating to income, franchise, excise, sales, and use tax provisions and affecting small business.

No action taken on March 16, 2023.

Referred to the joint committee for review of **Administrative Rules**, March 20, 2023.

ROB HUTTON Chairperson

MESSAGES FROM THE ASSEMBLY CONSIDERED

Assembly Bill 67

Relating to: the award of Wisconsin Merit scholarships to University of Wisconsin System students.

By Representatives Green, August, Armstrong, Brooks, Dittrich, Duchow, Goeben, Gundrum, Kitchens, Moses, Murphy, Mursau, Nedweski, O'Connor, Penterman, Plumer, Rettinger, Sinicki, Spiros and Tittl; cosponsored by Senators Nass, Marklein, Cowles and Taylor.

Read first time and referred to the committee on **Senate Organization**.