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2023 Wisconsin Act 213 
[2023 Assembly Bill 1073] 

Various Changes to the Worker’s 
Compensation Law 

2023 WISCONSIN ACT 213 
2023 Wisconsin Act 213 makes changes to the state worker’s compensation law. The changes were 
recommended by the Worker’s Compensation Advisory Council, which is statutorily directed to advise 
the Department of Workforce Development (DWD) on the worker’s compensation law and to 
recommend legislative changes1. 

Act 213 does all of the following: 

 Increases the maximum weekly compensation rate for permanent partial disability to $438 for 
injuries occurring on or after the act’s effective date to December 31, 2024, and to $446 for injuries 
occurring on or after January 1, 2025. 

 Updates terminology from “advanced practice nurse prescribers” to “advanced practice registered 
nurses” in ch. 102, Stats.  

 Provides that the statute of limitations for compensation claims begins running from the date a 
compromise agreement is issued by the Division of Hearings and Appeals (DHA), and that 
subsequent claims are not barred except as provided under s. 102.17 (4), Stats.  

 Specifies that after DHA issues an order on the merits of a case or an order approving a compromise 
agreement, DHA must return the case file to DWD and DWD must conduct further administrative 
activities, including closing the claim.   

 Authorizes an employer or employer’s insurer to voluntarily make a lump sum payment of 
unaccrued permanent partial disability benefits in undisputed claims without an interest credit.  

 Changes references to spouses to gender-neutral terminology in ch. 102, Stats.   

 Updates citations to the amended federal Rehabilitation Act of 1973.  

 Increases the threshold for payments from the uninsured employers fund from $1,000,000 to 
$2,000,000. 

Effective date: March 24, 2024 

For a full history of the bill, visit the Legislature’s bill history page. 
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1  Section 102.14 (2), Stats. The Council recommended a second bill, 2023 Assembly Bill 1074/2023 Senate Bill 992, 

which received a public hearing but was not taken up in executive session. 
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