Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Agriculture

Assembly Bill 440

Relating to: permits for the overweight transport of certain fluid milk products. By Representatives Kurtz, Schmidt, Armstrong, Born, C. Anderson, Edming, Goeben, Gundrum, Gustafson, Krug, Magnafici, Mursau, Nedweski, Novak, O'Connor, Oldenburg, Penterman, Sortwell and Stubbs; cosponsored by Senators Ballweg, Cabral-Guevara, Cowles, Feyen, Marklein, Nass and Testin.

September 28, 2023 Referred to Committee on Agriculture

November 21, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (11) Representative Tranel; Representatives
Oldenburg, Hurd, Novak, Schutt, Schmidt,
VanderMeer, Considine, Shankland, Jacobson
and C. Anderson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (4) Representatives Kitchens, Moses, Mursau and Myers.

Appearances For

- State Rep. Tony Kurtz 50th Assembly Dist
- Rebekah Sweeney WCMA
- Scott Potts BelGioioso Cheese
- Jeff Montsma Agropur
- Dan Johnson WI Milk Haulers Association
- Tim Fiocchi WI Farm Bureau

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

Joel Nilsestuen - WI DOT

Registrations For

- Michelle Ramirez-White WI Farmers Union
- Amy Winters WI Dairy Products Association
- Jennifer Wickman Cooperative Network
- Michelle Kussow Foremost Farms USA
- Sen. Joan Ballweg 14th Senate Dist
- Chad Zuleger DBA
- Lane Ruhland WI Dairy Alliance

• Lane Ruhland - Venture Dairy Cooperative

Registrations Against

- Mark Wadium Outagamie County Board of Supervisors
- Dave Behrend

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

December 07, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present: (14) Representative Tranel; Representatives
Oldenburg, Hurd, Kitchens, Moses, Novak,
Schutt, Schmidt, VanderMeer, Considine,
Shankland, Myers, Jacobson and C. Anderson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Mursau.

Moved by Representative Shankland, seconded by Representative Schmidt that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (14) Representative Tranel; Representatives
Oldenburg, Hurd, Kitchens, Moses, Novak,
Schutt, Schmidt, VanderMeer, Considine,
Shankland, Myers, Jacobson and C.
Anderson.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Moses, seconded by Representative Shankland that **Assembly Bill 440** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (14) Representative Tranel; Representatives
Oldenburg, Hurd, Kitchens, Moses, Novak,
Schutt, Schmidt, VanderMeer, Considine,
Shankland, Myers, Jacobson and C.
Anderson.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Jeff Curry Committee Clerk