Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Campaigns and Elections

Assembly Joint Resolution 77

Relating to: prohibiting state and local governments from using privately sourced moneys or equipment in connection with the conduct of elections and specifying who may perform tasks related to the conduct of an election (second consideration).

By Representatives August, Bodden, Sortwell, Dittrich, Allen, Steffen, Plumer, Hurd, Maxey, O'Connor, Rettinger, Schutt, Armstrong, Magnafici, Michalski, Nedweski, Snyder, Petersen, Rozar, Gundrum, Behnke, Mursau, Penterman, Swearingen, Edming, Murphy, Brooks, Binsfeld, Callahan, Green, Summerfield, Moses, Donovan, Dallman, Schmidt, Goeben, Wittke, Duchow, Melotik, S. Johnson, Brandtjen, Born and Gustafson; cosponsored by Senators Wimberger, Wanggaard, Nass, Stroebel, Feyen, Ballweg, Testin, Marklein, Cowles, Felzkowski, Tomczyk, Stafsholt and Cabral-Guevara.

September 29, 2023 Referred to Committee on Campaigns and Elections

October 24, 2023 Public Hearing Held

Present: (7) Representative Krug; Representatives Maxey, Murphy, Rozar, Tittl, Tusler and C. Anderson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Snodgrass and Subeck.

Appearances For

- Rep. Tyler August 32nd State Assembly District
- Sen. Eric Wimberger 30th State Senate District
- Mr. Ron Heuer Wisconsin Voter Alliance
- Mr. Steven Lohr
- Mr. Gerry Mullen

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

Ms. Kathryn Bartelli

Registrations For

- Mr. Kyle Koenen Wisconsin Institute for Law and Liberty
- Ms. Madeline Malisa Opportunity Solutions Project (OSP)

Registrations Against

• Mr. Peter Burress - Wisconsin Conservation Voters

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

October 31, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present: (7) Representative Krug; Representatives Maxey, Murphy, Tittl, Snodgrass, Subeck and C. Anderson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Rozar and Tusler.

Moved by Representative Tittl, seconded by Representative Maxey that **Assembly Joint Resolution 77** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (4) Representative Krug; Representatives Maxey, Murphy and Tittl.

Noes: (3) Representatives Snodgrass, Subeck and C. Anderson.

ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 3

John Reinemann Committee Clerk