Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Campaigns and Elections

Assembly Bill 577

Relating to: an election official's personal information; battery against election officials; whistleblower protection for municipal clerks, county clerks, and election officials who witness and report election fraud or irregularities; harassing election officials; and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Goeben, Rozar, Ortiz-Velez, Behnke, Dittrich, S. Johnson, Maxey, O'Connor and Rettinger.

October 31, 2023 Referred to Committee on Campaigns and Elections

November 02, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (5) Representative Krug; Representatives Maxey,

Murphy, Snodgrass and C. Anderson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (4) Representatives Rozar, Tittl, Tusler and

Subeck.

Appearances For

• Mr. Edgar Lin - United to Protect Democracy

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

• Ms. Lisa Tollefson - Rock County Clerk

Registrations For

- Ms. Kim Trueblood Marathon County Clerk
- Rep. Donna Rozar 69th State Assembly District

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

November 07, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present: (8) Representative Krug; Representatives Maxey, Murphy, Tittl, Tusler, Snodgrass, Subeck and C. Anderson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Rozar.

Moved by Representative Maxey, seconded by Representative Murphy that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (8) Representative Krug; Representatives
Maxey, Murphy, Tittl, Tusler, Snodgrass,
Subeck and C. Anderson.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Maxey, seconded by Representative Murphy that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (8) Representative Krug; Representatives
Maxey, Murphy, Tittl, Tusler, Snodgrass,
Subeck and C. Anderson.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Murphy, seconded by Representative Tittl that **Assembly Bill 577** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (8) Representative Krug; Representatives
Maxey, Murphy, Tittl, Tusler, Snodgrass,
Subeck and C. Anderson.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

John Reinemann Committee Clerk