Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Colleges and Universities

Assembly Bill 12

Relating to: tuition and fee remission or grants for certain veterans and their dependents enrolled in the University of Wisconsin System, a technical college, or a private nonprofit institution of higher education; and the University of Wisconsin System nonresident tuition exemption for certain veterans.

By Representatives Kitchens, Kurtz, Steffen, Novak, Myers, Spiros, Armstrong, Ortiz-Velez, Rozar, Macco, Murphy, Green, Mursau, Edming, Duchow and Shankland; cosponsored by Senators Wimberger, Ballweg, Cowles and Taylor.

February 07, 2023 Referred to Committee on Colleges and Universities

June 08, 2023 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(15)	Representative Murphy; Representatives
		Nedweski, Moses, Wittke, Krug, Goeben,
		Schutt, S. Johnson, Michalski, O'Connor,
		Emerson, Stubbs, Joers, Shankland and J.
		Anderson.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- Representative Joel Kitchens Wisconsin State Assembly
 District 1
- Senator Eric Wimberger Wisconsin State Senate 30th District
- Matthew Schroeder WAICU
- Paul Fisk American Legion
- Al Labelle Disabled American Veterans
- Joe Rasmussen University Veterans Services
- Timothy La Sage Self

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• Emily Yttn - Wisconsin National Guard Association

Registrations For

• Michael Welsh - Wisconsin Economic Development Association

- Mike Fupeal VFW
- Bob Welch Concordia University

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• Brandson Trujillo - Wisconsin Technical College System

September 07, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present:	(14)	Representative Murphy; Representatives
		Moses, Wittke, Krug, Goeben, Schutt, S.
		Johnson, Michalski, O'Connor, Emerson,
		Stubbs, Joers, Shankland and J. Anderson.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Nedweski.

Moved by Representative Michalski, seconded by Representative Johnson that **Assembly Bill 12** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (14) Representative Murphy; Representatives Moses, Wittke, Krug, Goeben, Schutt, S. Johnson, Michalski, O'Connor, Emerson, Stubbs, Joers, Shankland and J. Anderson.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Steve Knudson Committee Clerk