Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Colleges and Universities

Assembly Bill 370

Relating to: guaranteed admission to University of Wisconsin System institutions and technical colleges and requiring high schools to prepare class rankings for certain pupils.

By Representatives O'Connor, Murphy, Vos, Maxey, Nedweski, Kitchens, Armstrong, Gustafson, Macco, Bodden, Behnke, Gundrum, Rozar, Wichgers, Brandtjen, Goeben and Green; cosponsored by Senator Cabral-Guevara.

July 27, 2023 Referred to Committee on Colleges and Universities

September 07, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (14) Representative Murphy; Representatives
Moses, Wittke, Krug, Goeben, Schutt, S.
Johnson, Michalski, O'Connor, Emerson,
Stubbs, Joers, Shankland and J. Anderson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Nedweski.

Appearances For

- State Representative Jerry O'Connor Wisconsin State Assembly
- State Senator Rachael Cabral-Guevara Wisconsin State Senate
- Jeff Fleig Fond do Lac School District

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

- Crystal Potts UW-Madison
- Scott Owczarek UW-Madison
- David Leszczynski UW-Madison

Registrations For

None.

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• Deej Lundgren - University of Wisconsin System

November 02, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present: (14) Representative Murphy; Representatives Nedweski, Moses, Wittke, Krug, Goeben,

Schutt, S. Johnson, Michalski, O'Connor, Stubbs, Joers, Shankland and J. Anderson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Emerson.

Moved by Representative O'Connor, seconded by Representative Michalski that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (9) Representative Murphy; Representatives Nedweski, Moses, Wittke, Krug, Goeben, Schutt, Michalski and O'Connor.

Noes: (5) Representatives S. Johnson, Stubbs, Joers, Shankland and J. Anderson.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 5

Moved by Representative O'Connor, seconded by Representative Goeben that **Assembly Bill 370** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (9) Representative Murphy; Representatives Nedweski, Moses, Wittke, Krug, Goeben, Schutt, Michalski and O'Connor.

Noes: (5) Representatives S. Johnson, Stubbs, Joers, Shankland and J. Anderson.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 5

Steve Knudson Committee Clerk