Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Colleges and Universities

Assembly Bill 610

Relating to: waivers from immunization requirements at institutions of higher education.

By Representatives Sortwell, Goeben, Rozar, Allen, Behnke, Bodden, Brandtjen, Callahan, Dittrich, Edming, Magnafici, Michalski, Murphy, O'Connor, Rettinger, Sapik, Schraa and Schutt; cosponsored by Senators Nass and Cabral-Guevara.

October 31, 2023 Referred to Committee on Colleges and Universities

January 10, 2024 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (15) Representative Murphy; Representatives Nedweski, Moses, Wittke, Krug, Goeben, Schutt, S. Johnson, Michalski, O'Connor, Emerson, Stubbs, Joers, Shankland and J. Anderson.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Representative Shae Sortwell Wisconsin State Assembly
- Caroline Janke
- Heather Allen Wis. United for Freedom

Appearances Against

• Layla Merrifield - Wis. Tech Colleges Dist. Board assoc

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Senator Steve Nass Wisconsin State Senate
- Representative Donna Rozar Wisconsin State Assembly
- Erin Runk Wis. United for Freedom
- Jen Repenshek

Registrations Against

- Nathan Butzlaff Wis. Public Health Association
- Nathan Butzlaff Medical College of Wisconsin

- Nathan Butzlaff Wis. Assoc. of Health Deptartments and Boards
- Mark Grapentine Wisconsin Medical Society
- Morna Foyt Wisconsin Technical College System

Registrations for Information Only

- Rebecca Larson WAICU
- Deej Lundgren Universities of Wisconsin

January 17, 2024 Executive Session Held

Present: (15) Representative Murphy; Representatives

Nedweski, Moses, Wittke, Krug, Goeben, Schutt, S. Johnson, Michalski, O'Connor, Emerson, Stubbs, Joers, Shankland and J.

Anderson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Johnson, seconded by Representative Michalski that **Assembly Bill 610** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (10) Representative Murphy; Representatives Nedweski, Moses, Wittke, Krug, Goeben, Schutt, S. Johnson, Michalski and O'Connor.

Noes: (5) Representatives Emerson, Stubbs, Joers, Shankland and J. Anderson.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 5

Steve Knudson Committee Clerk