Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Consumer Protection

Assembly Bill 559

Relating to: caller identification spoofing, granting rule-making authority, and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Bodden, Kitchens, Armstrong, Behnke, Binsfeld, Brandtjen, Cabrera, Duchow, Goeben, Gustafson, Krug, Michalski, Murphy, Mursau, Ohnstad, Palmeri, Penterman, Rettinger, Schmidt, Wichgers, Edming, Schraa and Sinicki; cosponsored by Senators Wanggaard, Bradley, Nass, Roys, Taylor and Spreitzer.

October 26, 2023 Referred to Committee on Consumer Protection

January 11, 2024 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(9)	Representative Callahan; Representatives S.
		Johnson, Behnke, Pronschinske, Rettinger,
		Schmidt, Ortiz-Velez, Cabrera and Jacobson.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

• Representative Ty Bodden - 59th Assembly District

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• Tom Moore - WI Cable Communications Assn.

Registrations For

• Senator Van Wanggaard - 21st Senate District

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

January 17, 2024 **Executive Session Held**

Present:	(9)	Representative Callahan; Representatives S.
		Johnson, Behnke, Pronschinske, Rettinger,
		Schmidt, Ortiz-Velez, Cabrera and Jacobson.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Johnson, seconded by Representative Behnke that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (8) Representative Callahan; Representatives S. Johnson, Behnke, Pronschinske, Rettinger, Schmidt, Ortiz-Velez and Jacobson.
- Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Pronschinske, seconded by Representative Ortiz-Velez that **Assembly Bill 559** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (9) Representative Callahan; Representatives S. Johnson, Behnke, Pronschinske, Rettinger, Schmidt, Ortiz-Velez, Cabrera and Jacobson.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Wyatt Cooper Committee Clerk