Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 55

Relating to: penalties for reckless driving and providing a penalty. By Representatives Donovan, Knodl, Allen, Baldeh, Binsfeld, Duchow, Gundrum, S. Johnson, Kurtz, Maxey, Murphy, Myers, Nedweski, Novak, O'Connor, Ortiz-Velez, Rettinger and Steffen; cosponsored by Senators Stroebel, L. Johnson, Jacque, Nass and Taylor.

February 20, 2023 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

February 28, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (14) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt, Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa, Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire, Stubbs and Madison.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Emerson.

Appearances For

- Rep. Bob Donovan 84th Assembly District
- Sen. Duey Stroebel 20th Senate District
- Mayor Cavalier Johnson City of Milwaukee
- Sen. LaTonya Johnson 6th Senate District
- Abbie Strong
- Scott Mayer 6th Assembly District
- Michael Steffes Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association
- Aaron Chapin Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association
- Dean Smith Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Assoication
- Alex Ayala Milwaukee Police Association
- Rob Lloyd Wisconsin Fraternal Order of Police

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Sen. Tim Carpenter 3rd Senate District
- Toni Herkert League of Wi Municipalities
- Rep. LaKeshia Myers 12th Assembly District

- Rep. Dan Knodl 24th Assembly District
- Natalie While Professional Insurance Agents of WI
- Amy Boyer AAA Wisconsin

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

March 07, 2023 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (15) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt,
Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa,
Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire,
Emerson, Stubbs and Madison.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Green, seconded by Representative Donovan that **Assembly Bill 55** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (13) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt, Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa, Steffen, Wichgers, Drake, McGuire, Emerson and Stubbs.

Committee Clerk

Noes: (2) Representatives Sortwell and Madison.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 2

Cameil Bowler