Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 79

Relating to: prostitution crime surcharge and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Bodden, Brandtjen, Ortiz-Velez, Drake, Allen, Andraca,
Baldeh, Behnke, Donovan, Gundrum, Mursau, Penterman, Sinicki, Stubbs, Subeck,
Wichgers and Jacobson; cosponsored by Senators Jacque, Taylor and Cabral-Guevara.

February 28, 2023 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

May 02, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (14) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt, Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa,

Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire,

Emerson and Madison.

Absent: (1) Representative Stubbs.

Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Rep. Ty Bodden Assembly District 59
- Sen. Andre Jacque Senate District 1

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

• Hannah Huffman - UMOS

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

May 18, 2023 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (13) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt, Novak, Green, Donovan, Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire, Emerson, Stubbs and Madison.

Absent:

(0) None.

Excused:

(2) Representatives Duchow and Schraa.

Moved by Representative Novak, seconded by Representative Sortwell that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (13) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt, Novak, Green, Donovan, Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire, Emerson, Stubbs and Madison.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Wichgers, seconded by Representative Green that **Assembly Bill 79** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (11) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt, Novak, Green, Donovan, Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire and Stubbs.

Noes: (2) Representatives Emerson and Madison.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 2

Cameil Bowler
Committee Clerk