## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

### **Assembly Bill 882**

Relating to: allowing a tactical emergency medical services professional to carry a firearm in prohibited areas.

By Representatives Tusler, Behnke, Bodden, Dittrich, Donovan, Edming, Gundrum, Magnafici, Murphy, Ortiz-Velez, Schraa and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Wanggaard and Cabral-Guevara.

January 02, 2024 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

February 08, 2024 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (15) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt, Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa, Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire, Emerson, Stubbs and Madison.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

#### Appearances For

- Rep Ron Tusler 3rd Assembly District
- Mayor Jake Woodford City of Appleton
- Todd Peters Appleton Police Department
- Adam Paiser Appleton Fire Department
- Ryan Homman Appleton Fire Department TEMS
- Caty McDermott Badger State Sheriffs

#### Appearances Against

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

## Registrations For

• Sen Van Wanggaard - 21st Senate District

## Registrations Against

• None.

### Registrations for Information Only

• None.

### February 13, 2024 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (15) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt,
Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa,
Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire,
Emerson, Stubbs and Madison.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Steffen that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (15) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt, Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa, Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire, Emerson, Stubbs and Madison.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Steffen that **Assembly Bill 882** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (14) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt, Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa, Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire, Emerson and Stubbs.

Noes: (1) Representative Madison.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 1

Cameil Bowler
Committee Clerk