Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Assembly Bill 271

Relating to: a grant program for recovery high schools and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Dittrich, S. Johnson, Brandtjen and Murphy; cosponsored by Senator James.

May 17, 2023 Referred to Committee on Education

November 01, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (13) Representative Kitchens; Representatives

Dittrich, Binsfeld, Duchow, Mursau, Nedweski,

Penterman, Wichgers, Wittke, Considine,

Myers, Andraca and Hong.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Rozar and Shelton.

Appearances For

- Rep. Barbara Dittrich 38th Assembly District
- Sen. Jesse James 23rd Senate District
- John Fournelle Horizon High School
- Judith Munaker Horizon High School
- David Kindig MD

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

- Kevyn Radcliffe Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
- Tom McCarthy Department of Public Instruction

Registrations For

 Kathy Markeland - Wisconsin Association of Family and Children's Agencies

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

November 08, 2023 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (14) Representative Kitchens; Representatives
Dittrich, Binsfeld, Duchow, Mursau, Nedweski,
Penterman, Rozar, Wichgers, Wittke, Shelton,
Considine, Andraca and Hong.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Myers.

Moved by Representative Nedweski, seconded by Representative Duchow that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (14) Representative Kitchens; Representatives Dittrich, Binsfeld, Duchow, Mursau, Nedweski, Penterman, Rozar, Wichgers, Wittke, Shelton, Considine, Andraca and Hong.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Nedweski, seconded by Representative Duchow that **Assembly Bill 271** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (14) Representative Kitchens; Representatives Dittrich, Binsfeld, Duchow, Mursau, Nedweski, Penterman, Rozar, Wichgers, Wittke, Shelton, Considine, Andraca and Hong.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Bob Delaporte Committee Clerk