Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Assembly Bill 592

Relating to: allowing representatives of certain federally chartered youth membership organizations to provide information to pupils on public school property.

By Representatives Rettinger, Dittrich, Edming, Rozar, Armstrong, Brandtjen, Donovan, Gustafson, Maxey, Michalski, Melotik, Murphy, Petryk, Schmidt and Tusler; cosponsored by Senators Cabral-Guevara and Tomczyk.

October 31, 2023 Referred to Committee on Education

January 04, 2024 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (14) Representative Kitchens; Representatives
Dittrich, Binsfeld, Duchow, Mursau, Nedweski,
Penterman, Wichgers, Wittke, Shelton,
Considine, Myers, Andraca and Hong.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Rozar.

Appearances For

- Representative Nik Rettinger 83rd Assembly District
- Senator Rachel Cabral-Guevara 19th Senate District
- Tim Molepske Scout Executive, Chippewa Valley Council
- Craig Schiefelbein President of Executive Board, Potawatomi Area Council
- Lucia Cronin Chair of Boy Scouts of America Territory
 6
- Jason Ballew Assistant Scout Executive Glacier's Edge Council
- Joe Carlson Scout Executive, Gateway Area Council
- John Overland Scout Executive of Samoset Council
- Brian Robb Director of Field Service, Bay-Lakes Council
- Nick Thorton Director of Field Service, Three Harbors Council
- Richard Davies Executive Board Member, Glacier's Edge Council
- Audrey Billings Eagle Scout
- Lauren Billings Eagle Scout
- Greg Klinkner Life Scout, Troop 333 Sun Prairie

- Matthew Garstka Life Scout, Troop 333 Sun Prairie
- John Edelblute IV American Legion

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- RJ Pirlot Three Harbors Council
- Oliver Dupree
- Paul Fisk American Legion

Registrations Against

- Tom McCarthy Department of Public Instruction
- Dee Pettack School Administrators Allliance

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

January 17, 2024 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (15) Representative Kitchens; Representatives
Dittrich, Binsfeld, Duchow, Mursau, Nedweski,
Penterman, Rozar, Wichgers, Wittke, Shelton,
Considine, Myers, Andraca and Hong.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Penterman, seconded by Representative Rozar that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (11) Representative Kitchens; Representatives Dittrich, Binsfeld, Duchow, Mursau, Nedweski, Penterman, Rozar, Wichgers, Wittke and Myers.

Noes: (4) Representatives Shelton, Considine, Andraca and Hong.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 4

Moved by Representative Wittke, seconded by Representative Wichgers that **Assembly Bill 592** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (10) Representative Kitchens; Representatives
Dittrich, Binsfeld, Duchow, Mursau,
Nedweski, Penterman, Rozar, Wichgers and
Wittke.

Noes: (5) Representatives Shelton, Considine, Myers, Andraca and Hong.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 5

Bob Delaporte Committee Clerk