# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Education**

### **Assembly Bill 1069**

Relating to: mandatory early literacy professional development. By Representative Schraa; cosponsored by Senator Stroebel.

February 05, 2024 Referred to Committee on Education

February 07, 2024 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (14) Representative Kitchens; Representatives

Dittrich, Binsfeld, Duchow, Mursau, Nedweski, Rozar, Wichgers, Wittke, Shelton, Considine,

Myers, Andraca and Hong.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Penterman.

### Appearances For

- Representative Michael Schraa 53rd Assembly District
- Representative Joel Kitchens 1st Assembly District
- John Soper Office of Senator Duey Stroebel
- Ted Neitzke CESA 6
- Laura Adams Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
- Tom McCarthy Department of Public Instruction
- Sue Doyle CESA 1

# Appearances Against

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

#### Registrations For

- Senator Duey Stroebel
- Bryn Horton Sun Prairie School District

# Registrations Against

• Kathy Champeau - Wisconsin State Reading Association

#### Registrations for Information Only

 Faith Vanderhorst - Southeast Wisconsin Schools Alliance

# February 14, 2024 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (15) Representative Kitchens; Representatives
Dittrich, Binsfeld, Duchow, Mursau, Nedweski,
Penterman, Rozar, Wichgers, Wittke, Shelton,
Considine, Myers, Andraca and Hong.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Myers, seconded by Representative Wichgers that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (15) Representative Kitchens; Representatives
Dittrich, Binsfeld, Duchow, Mursau,
Nedweski, Penterman, Rozar, Wichgers,
Wittke, Shelton, Considine, Myers, Andraca
and Hong.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Nedweski, seconded by Representative Myers that **Assembly Bill 1069** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (15) Representative Kitchens; Representatives
Dittrich, Binsfeld, Duchow, Mursau,
Nedweski, Penterman, Rozar, Wichgers,
Wittke, Shelton, Considine, Myers, Andraca
and Hong.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Bob Delaporte Committee Clerk