### **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Energy and Utilities**

#### **Assembly Bill 45**

Relating to: restricting local regulation of utility service based on the type or source of energy.

By Representatives Knodl, Steffen, Armstrong, Behnke, Brandtjen, Dallman, Dittrich, Donovan, Duchow, Gundrum, Kitchens, Kurtz, Macco, Murphy, Mursau, Rettinger, Rodriguez, Rozar, Snyder, Sortwell, Swearingen, Tittl, Tusler and Zimmerman; cosponsored by Senators Bradley, Feyen, Nass, Stroebel, Testin, Tomczyk, Wanggaard and Wimberger.

February 20, 2023 Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities

May 16, 2023 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (13) Representative Steffen; Representatives Summerfield, Donovan, Hurd, Neylon, Oldenburg, Sortwell, Tittl, Tranel, Drake, Andraca, Moore Omokunde and Haywood.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (3) Representatives Petersen, Petryk and Subeck.

#### Appearances For

- Dan Knodl 8th Senate District
- Bill Skewes Wisconsin Utilities Association
- Dan Lapato American Gas Association
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses

### Appearances Against

• Jennifer Giegerich - Wisconsin Conservation Voters

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

#### Registrations For

- Julian Bradley 28th Senate District
- Rob Richard WECA
- Chris LaRowe WEC Energy Group
- Joel Haubrich WEC Energy Group
- Jennifer Shilling Dairyland Power Cooperative
- Michelle Kussow Wisconsin Propane Gas Association
- James Buchen Wisconsin Utility Investors
- R.J. Pirlot American Petroleum Institute

• Jason Culotta - Midwest Food Producers Association

#### Registrations Against

• Erik Kanter - Clean Wisconsin

#### Registrations for Information Only

None.

#### June 06, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present: (16) Representative Steffen; Representatives Summerfield, Donovan, Hurd, Neylon, Oldenburg, Petersen, Petryk, Sortwell, Tittl, Tranel, Subeck, Drake, Andraca, Moore Omokunde and Haywood.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Summerfield that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (11) Representative Steffen; Representatives Summerfield, Donovan, Hurd, Neylon, Oldenburg, Petersen, Petryk, Sortwell, Tittl and Tranel.

Noes: (5) Representatives Subeck, Drake, Andraca, Moore Omokunde and Haywood.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 5

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Summerfield that **Assembly Bill 45** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (11) Representative Steffen; Representatives Summerfield, Donovan, Hurd, Neylon, Oldenburg, Petersen, Petryk, Sortwell, Tittl and Tranel.

Noes: (5) Representatives Subeck, Drake, Andraca, Moore Omokunde and Haywood.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 5

Nicole Walentowski-Domokos Committee Clerk