# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Energy and Utilities**

### **Assembly Bill 73**

Relating to: changing the phase-out of utility aid payments for decommissioned power plants.

By Representatives Oldenburg, Plumer, Brooks, Knodl, Michalski, Mursau, Nedweski, Rodriguez and Subeck; cosponsored by Senators Ballweg, Cowles, Felzkowski, Marklein, Pfaff and Wanggaard.

February 28, 2023 Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities

May 16, 2023 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (13) Representative Steffen; Representatives Summerfield, Donovan, Hurd, Neylon, Oldenburg, Sortwell, Tittl, Tranel, Drake, Andraca, Moore Omokunde and Haywood.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (3) Representatives Petersen, Petryk and Subeck.

## Appearances For

- Loren Oldenburg 96th Assembly District
- Joan Ballweg 14th Senate District
- Shonna Neary Columbia County
- Steve Pate Town of Pacific
- JP Brummond Alliant Energy
- Zach Hill Alliant Energy
- Jennifer Shilling Dairyland Power Cooperative

#### Appearances Against

None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

None.

## Registrations For

- Rob Richard WECA
- Bill Skewes Wisconsin Utilities Association
- Jennifer Wickman Cooperative Network
- Chris LaRowe WEC Energy Group
- Joel Haubrich WEC Energy Group
- Matthew Spencer MG&E

- Bill Gohring Wisconsin Counties Utility Tax Association
- Dan Bahr Wisconsin Counties Association
- Toni Herkert League of Wisconsin Municipalities

### Registrations Against

• None.

### Registrations for Information Only

• None.

#### October 10, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present: (16) Representative Steffen; Representatives Summerfield, Donovan, Hurd, Neylon, Oldenburg, Petersen, Petryk, Sortwell, Tittl, Tranel, Subeck, Drake, Moore Omokunde, Haywood and Ratcliff.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Oldenburg, seconded by Representative Summerfield that **Assembly Bill 73** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (16) Representative Steffen; Representatives Summerfield, Donovan, Hurd, Neylon, Oldenburg, Petersen, Petryk, Sortwell, Tittl, Tranel, Subeck, Drake, Moore Omokunde, Haywood and Ratcliff.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 16, Noes 0

Nicole Walentowski-Domokos Committee Clerk