Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Energy and Utilities

Assembly Bill 303

Relating to: the broadband expansion grant program.

By Representatives Summerfield, Swearingen, Armstrong, Binsfeld, Callahan, Considine, Edming, Green, Hurd, S. Johnson, Kitchens, Magnafici, Mursau, Novak, O'Connor, Penterman, Petryk, Plumer, Pronschinske, Sapik, Schmidt, Schraa, Tranel and Tusler; cosponsored by Senators Marklein, Ballweg, Felzkowski, Feyen, James, Pfaff, Testin, Wanggaard and Wimberger.

June 02, 2023 Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities

June 06, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (16) Representative Steffen; Representatives
Summerfield, Donovan, Hurd, Neylon,
Oldenburg, Petersen, Petryk, Sortwell, Tittl,
Tranel, Subeck, Drake, Andraca, Moore
Omokunde and Haywood.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Rob Summerfield Assembly District 67
- Bill Esbeck WSTA
- Tom Moore WI Cable Communications Association

Appearances Against

- Jeremy Crandall CTIA
- Tim Michalak WISPA--Broadband Without Boundaries
- Stephanie Cassioppi US Cellular

Appearances for Information Only

Matt Sweeney - PSC

Registrations For

- Adam Raschka Charter Communications
- Hannah Huffman TDS
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses
- Michael Welsh WI Economic Development Association
- Howard Marklein Senate District 17
- Bob Welch WI Corn Growers Association

• Alex Ignatowski - Institute for Reforming Government Action

Registrations Against

• Nathan Butzlaff - US Cellular

Registrations for Information Only

• Stephen Keegan - Wireless Infrastructure Association

October 10, 2023 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (16) Representative Steffen; Representatives
Summerfield, Donovan, Hurd, Neylon,
Oldenburg, Petersen, Petryk, Sortwell, Tittl,
Tranel, Subeck, Drake, Moore Omokunde,
Haywood and Ratcliff.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Summerfield that **Assembly Amendment 3** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (16) Representative Steffen; Representatives
Summerfield, Donovan, Hurd, Neylon,
Oldenburg, Petersen, Petryk, Sortwell, Tittl,
Tranel, Subeck, Drake, Moore Omokunde,
Haywood and Ratcliff.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 3 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 16, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Oldenburg that **Assembly Bill 303** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (16) Representative Steffen; Representatives Summerfield, Donovan, Hurd, Neylon, Oldenburg, Petersen, Petryk, Sortwell, Tittl, Tranel, Subeck, Drake, Moore Omokunde, Haywood and Ratcliff.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 16, Noes 0

Nicole Walentowski-Domokos Committee Clerk